Day 4 to the Trans Am - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

August 22, 2018

Day 4 to the Trans Am

Rural Retreat to Elk Garden Methodist Church

Woohoo I made it to the Trans Am
Heart 0 Comment 0

Yea, I made it to the Trans Am. Made full use of all the services at the hotel, laundry took a couple showers and I got a good deposit in the Sleep Bank. Left at 7:30 rode down US 11, Great Road, not much traffic. It shouldn't have as it parallels I-81. I figured I would drowned out the traffic din with music, via the headphones. Well would have been a good plan, but the headphones didn't work. Darn it. So for the first 30 some odd miles I had Interstate noise to keep me company. Got down to Meadowview and picked up the Trans Am, I was happy when I saw the first 76 bike sign. Got on State Route 80 and had a great downhill run for about 10 miles to Hayters Gap, then the climbing started, granny gear all the way. I didn't check to see how long it was I've heard 2 miles. I think it was longer, At about 4.3 miles an hour it should have taken about 30 minutes, it didn't. Almost an hour of climbing, three stops. I finally made it to the top. The Descent was fun but of course it was not long enough, is it ever?  I probably only got passed by maybe 10 cars on the whole climb. There was a few ups and downs to the cyclist hostel. Tomorrow it is Big A Mountain I don't know what the A stands for but I'm sure I'll have a special name for it.

Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here to let my rims cool off
Heart 0 Comment 0
Do I look as bad as I feel at this point?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gives new meaning to the term sleeping in church
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 196 miles (315 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bob Mcanultydoing good john, keep them coming
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
James AllenType your comment here
Reply to this comment
5 years ago