Day 3 - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2018

Day 3

To the Trans Am New River store to Rural Retreat

Heart 0 Comment 0

Things went a lot smoother this morning, the fact that I slept better helped a lot. I was able to get foot to Pedal at 7:45. Rode on the New River Trail to Ivanhoe, very scenic. Didn't see another Soul until I got to Ivanhoe trail head. I ran into another cyclist at the trailhead and ask him for some directions, he was able to clarify some of my errors. They told me to go straight up 94 to Pope Road. The road was hilly and then it turned into a gravel road right after a corner. That was interesting. It wasn't a bad Road for  being gravel. Then I came across a person unloading a truck, he clarified what I had written out on my directions. It was a big help, because the road I was on  Tee' d into route 619 which wasn't on my written directions. Had I not talked to him I probably would have not known what to do at 619. 619 was a great Road no traffic, nice scenery. Some pretty steep up and downs, stopped at a little town called Speedwell Virginia, I decided a break was in order and I got something to eat and drink. Then the skies opened up I was dry under a covered storefront with benches. Waited out the storm for about an hour and 15 minutes, and was on my way again. 5 miles later it started raining again. While I was stopped and putting my raincoat on another cross-country cyclist stopped behind me. We talked for a little while and then we headed out, he's just finishing up he started in Oregon and he's going to Yorktown. He had some funny stories and gave me some good information about what's ahead so it was good running into him. Made it to Rural Retreat and took care of some some business and stuff having cell service for the first time in 2 days. Started down Route 11 thinking of stopping at at Motel, I'll give you a guess at what it started doing again, yep raining hard. About 10 minutes later after I and everything I own is soaking wet the sun came out. All in all it was a pretty good day. I'm staying the night at a rather old Motor Inn looks like something right out of the 50s, good thing is I got clothes washed and dried I'm all set to go tomorrow.

 Tomorrow is the start of the serious mountains all these things up till now just been a little Foothills.

Typical of today's ride
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rain started
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then it got heavier
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool little train station
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 143 miles (230 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0