Day 5 - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2018

Day 5

Elk Garden to Lookout Kentucky

One of the never ending climbs up Big A Mountain
Heart 0 Comment 0

Something more about yesterday,Jaap showed up at the hostel just before 7 p.m. last night,Jaap is from the Netherlands a real interesting fellow. We talked about cycling culture in the two countries. He told me some about his trip and what to expect in the next day or two. We talked about our jobs, he had the same thing happen to him as me. It was the funny the way he put it "They fired me and gave me a big sack of money to hold me over until the state pension started" it would seem Dutch corporations are about the same as US companies layoff just before you turn 62.

Today's ride was probably harder than yesterday Big A Mountain was a challenge but not like Hayters Gap. What made today's Ride Hard was the cumulative climbs. First it was up Big A mountain, then two fairly hard climbs to Breaks Interstate Park. Every Journal I've read said to check out the Breaks

and Jaap mentioned it also. Well after climbing to the park then there was more climbing in the park I looked at two over looks wow. It's called the Grand Canyon of the East. It's a River Gorge, from The Overlook it was a long way down. It kind of reminded me of the Royal Gorge, with a lot more trees.

Into Kentucky we go, I don't go 5 miles into the state when the hell hounds start. It seems It's a state law to own a dog, It must be because everybody has one. A kind of sad part of the ride today, as I was walking up a hill because I was shot. I found what appeared to be is a dog dump, there were  at least four Critters all of them young and a couple of pups they were barking and challenging me. This was at the top of the hill, as I  mounted the bike I saw a dead one I'll assume that it was hit. The poor things are underfed mangy, I don't know why someone would do that to a dog.

The last part of the ride was into Lookout and it was all downhill, yay. Made it to the Freda Harris Baptist Center cyclist hostel. This hostile is wonderful, hot showers, full kitchen with food, beds, and a gym. Should you want to play a game of basketball, after 64 miles with steep climbs no thanks.

Off to the next climb
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A new state. Where do I pick up my Dog ?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The evil one at rest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 260 miles (418 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0