Day 29 Edmond-El Reno - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2018

Day 29 Edmond-El Reno

Oklahoma wind blow like you're never going to blow again

James ran me to Walmart first thing this morning. When we got back he made me a wonderful omelette with tomatoes, broccoli, avocado. Great way to start the day, I would need it. He showed me how to get downtown in Oklahoma City, it was really quite simple just take Kelly Street until it tees off in 13th Street. The directions were easy, getting there was not. I was going south, the wind was coming out of the South. A 10 to 15 mile per hour headwind . with some road construction tossed in for good measure. Two and a half hours later I arrived at the Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial. It's an interesting Memorial, two bronze walls and a reflective pool are Hauntingly beautiful. The empty chairs are a somber reminder of what was lost.

On a happier note, I was off to find a downtown park to have lunch. I found a nice little place with some chairs and table, got a lemonade. After lunch, and a nice chat with other people sitting nearby. It was time once again to put foot to the pedal and get to the campground in El Reno. That also didn't go as planned, but more on that later. I used Google maps to get to El Reno, I could have used the ACA Maps, I just didn't want to go back North about 30 blocks. I've had good luck with the Google Maps. Everything was going hunky-dory until the bike path I was on had a closed sign ,which put me on a very busy road.I found another route which was great then it turned to gravel, it wasn't a bad Gravel Road as far as gravel roads go. I had to go 5 miles on this road, the further I went on this road the gravel got deeper. I had a few pucker moments but I didn't crash. I got to El Reno, I passed the place where I had told Google I wanted to go. I went back only to find I didn't tell it to go to the right place.I thought  the ACA Maps said RV Park in El Reno, it did not,what it said was Lake RV Park in El Reno. It's amazing how omitting one word could be so wrong. Anyway I found the right place. I set up the tent and started cooking dinner. A storm front came through and flattened my tent, must have been 40 to 60 mile an hour winds I quickly dropped the tent poles because I thought the wind might break the poles. Being the efficient packer that I am I didn't pack any extra lines for guy out lines. The front didn't bring rain just wind. Once it's settled down I got the tent back up and rigged some lines with some other things I had,a bungee cord, and the strap I use to strap the tent to the bike. Needless to say it was an exciting few hours. I was probably funny to watch, I fumbled with the tent and at the same time stuff is blowing off the picnic table, then back to the tent, back to the table. I didn't lose anything which is amazing considering how hard the wind was blowing the wind finally settled down to a light Breeze. I ate and I called it a day.

James my WS host
Heart 0 Comment 0
James smiling,me looking like I'm going kill someone
Heart 0 Comment 0
Goodbye and thanks for everything
Heart 0 Comment 0
The empty chairs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Illegal aliens,Trump get the wall built to ward off these interlopers from the North
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sky line from the bike trail Google put me on
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ok ,I'm a gravel rider
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,640 miles (2,639 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0