Day 30 El Reno-Weatherford,OK - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 21, 2018

Day 30 El Reno-Weatherford,OK

Rain and wind oh what fun it is

Today would test my mettle. I was about to finish packing up when it started raining lightly, okay I got this, finished packing up, the only thing I had to do was put on my riding clothes and go. It started raining harder and harder. I went down to a Donut coffee shop had a coffee and a breakfast burrito. I checked my mileage to Weatherford, and put in a warm showers request in Hydro. Hydro is about 6 miles east of Weatherford. I knew it was going to be a wet day and I dressed accordingly. I went through El Reno following the ACA map I was getting warmed up and ready to go to work. All of a sudden the front end of the bike at all loose and wallowed around. I was just starting down a hill, at an underpass and was picking up some speed. Oh crap a flat front tire, all I could think about was don't crash. A flat tire wasn't totally unexpected seeing as how I had bounced around on a gravel road yesterday. That was not the cause of this flat tire I took the tire off the rim to check for Sharp things, glass, nails, Etc I ran my finger inside the tire. What I found was a sheet metal screw about a quarter of an inch long embedded to the hilt I have to remove it with some pliers on my mini-multi tool. So it's flat number four. Once the flat was fixed and the bike was put back together I was off again. After riding more than 2 hours in the Wind and Rain I came across a truck stop. I thought a hot coffee would be nice, after finishing off the hot beverage. I walked outside,Brrr.. this is going to require more clothing, I dug a pair of wool tights out of the bag, and put them on. A world of difference,as it turned out to be a necessary decision. The wind had gotten stronger and a temperatures had dropped. I did not stop for the next few hours, but once to eat and call home. When I got to Weatherford, I stopped for more coffee and sat down to find a hotel close by. I found one about half a mile away and inexpensive. I've planted myself here for 2 days to let the storms pass.

I thought this was a nice mural
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not to many pictures today because of the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the little bugger that gave me my fourth flat tire of the trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
Truckstop art
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 1,693 miles (2,725 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0