Day 2 - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2018

Day 2

To the TransAm

The New River
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today I feel like I'm writing a Dickens novel,It was the best of times well you get the idea.

The day started good,really humid,but good great roads not much traffic.Google put me on some great roads.I made Google send me up Pippers GAP rd I didn't want to ride on SR 89 .I had looked at Pippers GAP rd on Google ,it looked steep,the pictures always flatten it out.Wow ,needless to say it was long hike a bike.Probably two hours of my life I'll never get back.It didn't kill me, I feel stronger already.

Rode into Galax,Va.I've never been happier to see a city limits sign in my life.The plan was to ride the New River Trail to a campsite called Double Shouls,I got there and it was a thirty foot drop down to the river.Beautiful campsite ,more work than I was willing to do.It would've required me to unload the bike take everything down,and then in the morning hike the bike and stuff up the hill to start my day.I knew about a place toward Fries,a little store/gas station.I thought let's give this place a shot.I'm camped under a pine tree enjoying an adult beverage.

The New River Trail is a gravel trail.Gravel turns to mud when it rains,guess what it rained ,The bike looks as though I went dual sporting .Every day is a new adventure on the road.

Woo hoo,I'm in Virginia
Heart 0 Comment 0
New River from the trail really pretty
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tunnel of trees
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 98 miles (158 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0