The weigh in - Land of the Rabbits - CycleBlaze

The weigh in

For me and the bike

Having only recently acquired scales, I was curious to see how much all this luggage does actually weigh.

  • Back right pannier (tent and sleeping): 4.7 kg
  • Back left pannier (clothes, laptop): 5.4 kg
  • Front right pannier (tools/stove/hardware): 4.3 kg
  • Front left pannier (food, cookset, elecrics): 3.6 kg
  • Bar bag: ~2 kg

So that's a total of 20kg exactly. Is this a lot? Not sure. Only thing I'm certain of is it's significantly less than previous trips.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Now I'll tell you what's not significantly less than previous trips ... the heaviest, most onerous baggage of all...

Apologies for my atrocious toenails
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingHow tall are you Jon?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jon AylingTo Mike Ayling191cm (or 6'3" as absurdly I still tend to think of my weight in kg but my height in feet and inches). So not a bad weight really! - it was more a shock just to see it creep up over the last couple of years...
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

That's 88.5 kg. This is mostly of academic interest as I will be subtracting from this figure all the measured calories I burn, and thereby calculating how much I've ingested in delicious racciones. Let's hope the number doesn't go up...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0