Bay o' Biscay voyage - Land of the Rabbits - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2023

Bay o' Biscay voyage

Finished my half day at work, and pausing only to pick up a pasty and retrieve my forgotten gloves I made it in good time to the train. Unfortunately it wasn't one with a proper guard's van, just vestibules for a couple of bikes. I picked my carriage poorly and it was already occupied, meaning I had to stand and look after my bike for the 90 min journey ... sigh, I always seem to have stressful train trips, even of this short duration!

The two bikes already there were owned by a very nice couple who had been cycling and climbing through Devon and Cornwall. They had a tight change in Plymouth, which I very much empathise with, so I made sure I got out the way so they could make it stress-free. I had over 2 hours to make the ferry and it was less than a mile away.

Not sure how the half-11 local train on a Wednesday got so full of bikes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Plymouth scene with varied architecture
Heart 1 Comment 0
Signing in at the ferry terminal
Heart 2 Comment 0

Security was pretty funny. I got briefly searched (actually this has happened to me on the ferries before, at Portsmouth) and the security guy actually laughed when I said I had a butter knife. I'm not sure that counts as a weapon.

Waiting to board I got chatting with a nice guy who had a lot of touring experience, who was taking his daughter on her first tour abroad. We swapped some tips of routes and pannier cookery.

Waiting to set off from the deck of the Pont Aven. This is Plymouth Sound, and that's [Sir Francis] Drake's island
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking back at the city
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bon voyage!
Heart 3 Comment 0
There is a special area on board where people can exercise their dogs
Heart 1 Comment 0
It's a massive cruise-style ship, with 4 bars and constantly running entertainment. There's even a swimming pool.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The open sea freaks me out a bit. It's a few kilometers deep going over the Bay of Biscay. Don't want to know what's down there [the Kraken]
Heart 1 Comment 0
Big freighter ships in the channel
Heart 1 Comment 0
The food is surprisingly well presented and fancy. I did rather overpay for this salad (which was, however, delicious)
Heart 1 Comment 0

I actually managed to get my Pilgrim pass Credencial stamped on board the ship. I don't know if I'll really need it, but it's nice to get it stamped near the beginning of the journey.

We're now out in the Atlantic and the sea is like glass - a mercifully smooth crossing. Sleep now - I have a cabin for this crossing - and no early start, we arrive in Santander about half 1 Spanish time.

Today's ride: 2 km (1 miles)
Total: 100 km (62 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0