Day 93 - ending near Tolley, ND - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2023

Day 93 - ending near Tolley, ND

Day 93 - Bowbells, ND to Tolley, ND
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up this morning at 6:37am. I was ready to leave at 8:30am, but delayed to post yesterday's report. Left at 9:35am, back to Farmers Union Oil Company for breakfast. They don't have a soda machine that dispenses ice, but they did fill up my canteen with ice from a partially opened bag they had.

I had two destinations today. First, get as close to the Canadian border as I could without a passport. Then I'd turn east and south to get to Mouse River Park, where there's a campground. 

The town of Northgate is near the border and one of the northern endpoints for the Great Plains Trail. I followed the trail today, but it was all highway riding anyway. I left Bowbells at 10:21am, heading north on ND-8. I was moving right along since ND-8 has great pavement, and is flat here. I arrived at the US Border Station right at noon, logging 14.7 miles for the morning. I spent a lot of time trying to get a halfway good selfie without squinting. I wanted the border in the background which had me facing the sun. After a few other pictures, I was on my way at 12:24pm, heading home.

I couldn't remember, but soon found out that my routing for today from the border was on gravel roads. That didn't really matter because the roads were in great shape for bicycling on, except for about 5 miles of washboard surface during the later afternoon. Only a few vehicles passed me today. Two of them stopped to see if I was doing OK. 

Just before I got to Mouse River, at 3:22pm, I turned right off CR-2 onto River Road. I was on this road quite a while - until I was just 2 miles from the campground. The nice thing about River Road is it stayed on the bottomland of the river, so there weren't really any hills to climb. I took three substantial breaks this afternoon. I'd bought snacks this morning in Bowbells, and the breaks were to eat the snacks. There was a peanuts break, a cookies break, and a Skittles break.

At 5:54pm, I came to the end of River Road at CR-3. I had made tentative routing plans to continue on straight for 2 miles on a National Wildlife Refuge road, if it looked like I could bike on it. It looked good enough and would save me a couple miles - and some hills. It turns out this road was actually easier, for the most part, than River Road was. The NWR road ended at the paved road entrance into Mouse River Park. 

I was at the camping area in the park at 6:30pm, but was having trouble finding any information on how to check-in. I stopped at Mouse River Park General Store. Their sign said "open" but the door was locked. Turns out the employee for the store also works at The Country Mouse (bar) next door. I walked over there and met someone outside who had all the information I needed. Camping overnight is $20, tents are allowed, and all the sites have electricity. With all that settled, I decided to eat supper first at The Country Mouse, then find a campsite. I made supper a celebration meal for having completed the GPT, though it seems I've been eating a lot of meals like this one lately just to stay energized.

I bought Gatorade for tomorrow, and a strawberry milk for drinking now, then selected my campsite. Had the tent set up and loaded with the gear by 9:15pm.

I was so overdue for a shower, that I delayed writing and sending the evening report until after I had one.

I feel really good about completing the GPT. When I get home maybe I can figure out the percentage I was actually on the trail. It also feels good to be heading home.

Jeff

Spent: $14.41 (breakfast items) + $11.25 (Gatorade, front bag snacks) + $24.74 plus $5 (supper) + $20 (campsite) + $7.29 (Gatorade, strawberry milk) = $82.69

Taking out the trash.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
River Road
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Country Mouse
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 3,351 miles (5,393 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 15
Kathleen JonesHurray! Made it to the border! Congrats. What a ride you’re doing.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Timothy SwitzerSo happy you made to the end!! And we are certainly looking forward to seeing your smiling face in ..... ? maybe about a month? :-)
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
JODI TIVEYI am so happy to hear your trip is still going so well!! Been thinking about you and took some time to catch up on your journal!!! Jodi-the Uhaul gal!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Nancy GrahamI know you will be happy to get home, and I will be happy for you, but I sure will miss your journals. Everyday I look for your journal and so love reading all of your stories. I will continue reading until you stop writing because you got home ;’-). And I will surely want to get your next trip’s journal for my entertainment.

Thanks Jeff for taking time to write and post some outstanding photos. Congrats on finishing your journey for this time.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
George HallCongratulations on making it to the end of the GPT! Safe travels as you work your way back home.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kelly IniguezHurray! What an accomplishment. Bask in your achievement.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Steve H71Thanks for taking us along
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Rich FrasierCongratulations on getting (almost) to Canada! I’ve really enjoyed following along!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks! I wasn't home yet, but it felt good to be heading that way.
Sorry this reply is so late.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo JODI TIVEYJodi,
I'm sure you know by now things went well for me all the rest of the way home. I'm finally getting caught up on posting replies to unanswered journal comments - sorry I'm so late.
Thanks for following along, and for your heart-warming care.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks! I was happy to see the border, and turn my focus toward home. Thanks for following along so faithfully!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo George HallGeorge,
Thanks! I'd never been so far north on a bicycle before.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
Thanks! I was smiling all afternoon :-)
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
It was great having you along!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
Thanks! At times it seemed I'd never get here.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago