Day 54 - ending at Anton, CO - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2023

Day 54 - ending at Anton, CO

Day 54 - Seibert, CO to Anton, CO
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 3:45am to work on report for two days ago until 7:10am, when I started packing. Stopped at 8:20am for free coffee and cheese crackers from the campground office.

It was a gray, overcast morning until I left at 9:01am. I went back to Siebert Travel Stop for breakfast. I had their "Full Breakfast" plus orange juice.

Today's destination is Prairie Motel and Campground in Anton, Colorado - about 49 miles away. Sticking to highways, the first half of the day will be on CO-59 going north to Cope, and the second half on US-36, heading west to Anton.

On my way north on CO-59 at 9:40am. We were supposed to have a south wind until afternoon, then it would be out of the north, but it was already out of the north. This made progress slower than I hoped. But, unlike yesterday, the payment here has no seams and is very smooth.

Some of the rivers I crossed this morning were interesting. The first one, Sand Creek, is aptly named. The next was the South Fork Republican River, which has clear looking water.

I was at the CO-59/CR-MM intersection when noon arrived. 17.6 miles done.

I arrived in Cope at 1:25pm. I stopped at the town's park for a break. I'd read they had an old phone booth in this park and it had been stolen. It's back now, with a security camera, I see.

There was a business a block away advertising refreshments, so I parked the bike and went in to Buffalo's Last Stand. I asked the proprietor if there was food, and he said yes, "Buffins". I asked what that was and he said it's sort of like a muffin. I said OK, I'll try one. I didn't realize that he'd have to make it up. He was in the kitchen for a while, then came back and asked if I would like some coffee with that. I said yes, that sounds good. So he plugs in the coffee maker. I'm thinking I didn't really mean to spend this much time here, but then I decided to just chill. It didn't look like it was going to rain this afternoon, even though it'd been predicted. I'd be moving west from Cope to get to Anton, so I wouldn't be fighting a headwind. Eventually the coffee and my buffin were ready. The fellow sat down with me and talked a lot. I didn't catch all he said because he talks kind of softly and he had music going on in the background. I do think I made his day though. He said most people walk in, turn around and walk right back out. I'm glad I took the time.

I cleared Cope at 2:40pm, heading west on US-36. Sure enough, with a side wind instead of a headwind, I was moving along for the last 22 miles.

Arrived in Anton at 4:56pm and at Prairie Motel and Campground on the north side of town a short time later. I met a young fellow in the parking lot. He offered me a motel room for $65 or camping for $20. It didn't look like rain so I went with the camping option. I have electricity here, but more importantly, wifi, since I have no cell phone signal.

Got the tent all set up then had supper out of my lunch box. There's a small gas station in town, but its hours are from 8:00am to 5:00pm. I'll check them out in the morning.

Jeff

Spent: $11.73 plus $2 (breakfast) + $1 (Cope Memorial Park donation) + $5 plus $2 (Buffin, coffee) + $20 (campsite) = $41.73

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sand Creek
Heart 4 Comment 0
South Fork Republican River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesAnd yet they still mow around this place. Interesting.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I think mowing is a hobby for some.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamIt looks like quite a complete and full store of lots of stuff, including a buffalo on the dining table ;’).
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Yes! I asked him how long he'd been in business - about 3 years. Then I asked how long he'd been collecting buffalo related items - 50 years!
Not related to buffalo, and I didn't include the picture, but he also has two working pinball machines.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamThis is not what I expected a ‘buffin that is kind of a muffin’ to l look like. Looks like a cookie with M&M chips. Hope it was tasty.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
You are right, it did look and taste like a cookie . . . a thick cookie. It was good and went great with the coffee.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltShowy milkweed.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asclepias_speciosa
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 2,288 miles (3,682 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0