Day 53 - ending at Seibert, CO - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2023

Day 53 - ending at Seibert, CO

Day 53 - Kit Carson, CO to Seibert, CO
Heart 0 Comment 0

This early morning was humid and overcast, with a cool southeast wind. The Trading Post Restaurant I was camping behind isn't open on Thursdays, so that left no place in town for food. I ate breakfast from my lunch bag in the tent.

Packed up and leaving at 8:46am. On my way out of town, I found the Wishing Windmill Boutique open, and they do sell food, just not commercially prepared food. So I had a second breakfast there. Once inside, I saw the place is actually (or also) called the Wildcat Cafe. Looks like it's run by the local school.

Today's destination is Shady Grove Campground in Seibert, Colorado - about 40 miles away. All of today's riding would be north on CO-59. I got started on that at 9:40am.

Highway CO-59 doesn't have much of a shoulder, but there wasn't much traffic. Half the traffic seemed to be oversize loads, either mobile homes or base sections for wind turbines. The problem with the road was the seam bumps, which kept my speed down. After 9 miles the payment improved. Toward the end of the day there was a decent shoulder. In fact the shoulder was better than the driving lane pavement. Wind was from the southeast, so that was helping.

Noon report: 14.8 miles.

Just after noon, it started misting. That lasted about an hour. I kept wondering when I should stop and get my rain gear out. I never made the decision and in the end, didn't need to.

I arrived at Seibert Travel Stop at 3:30pm. Had a Deluxe Bacon Cheeseburger, onion rings, and a medium drink. On to Shady Grove Campground after that. It looks like I'm camping in someone's backyard, but it's actually the side yard of the home the owners live in. Where the tent is at is their designated tent camping area. There is an outlet on the house for me to use. I was set up by 5:15pm.

I took a shower and did laundry next, since they have machines here.

I walked around town a little bit and then on toward the west end of town to get a sunset picture, but with all the cloud cover, there wasn't a picture to be had.

This campground has complimentary coffee and snacks. I got a cup of decaf coffee a little after 7:00pm. I resisted grabbing a snack also since I'd just brushed my teeth.

Today's journal isn't going to be as interesting as some of the others. There weren't as many pictures opportunities. But then again, the bike worked fine. I didn't have any other problems. The road was flat. It was a good day.

Jeff

Spent: $8.20 plus $1.80 (breakfast items) + $15.60 (supper) + $30 (campsite) + $5 (laundry) = $60.60

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 2,238 miles (3,602 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0