Day 25 - ending at Frederick, OK - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2023

Day 25 - ending at Frederick, OK

Day 25 - Waurika, OK to Frederick, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'd been thinking about today last night, and by this morning had what I'd do figured out. I couldn't get both yesterday's report done and posted plus put in the miles that I had planned for today. The best I could do would be to write as much of the report as I could, so I could keep things straight for yesterday and today. So I worked on the report from 4:45am to 7:00am. My goal was to be leaving by 9:00am. Destination: Tanglewood Motel in Frederick, Oklahoma - 67 miles away.

The first place to get food today would be 14 miles away, so I ate breakfast at the picnic table. I almost made my departure time goal, except the DeLorme PN-60 GPS needed new batteries. Then I discovered it was time to change out the Magellan MAP 330 GPS to the one loaded with the second set of waypoints. That GPS was packed away in my clothes bag, so it was a partial unload to get to it. At least it locked in right away, knowing where it was.

At 9:28am I was leaving the campground. There were a few gravel roads to ride before I got to highway OK-5, heading west. There was a strong cool breeze from the east pushing me west on the highway. I was coasting along at nearly 20 mph, until I got to a 'Bridge Out Ahead' barricade at 10:20am. That put me on a 5 mile gravel roads detour. I was back on the highway at 11:30am.

I stopped at Mac's Quick Stop in Temple at 11:45am to buy Gatorade and ice with a little soda in it. There's a steakhouse in town - Rockin 'H' Land & Cattle, and it was open. I wasn't sure I needed too big of a lunch, but that's what I got when they served me their Little Joe's Chicken Fried Steak with mashed potatoes and sweet tea. My waitress thought I wouldn't be able to finish it, so she brought me a carry-out container. I was trying to figure out how to make that work, but knew my wife wouldn't be pleased with me eating food left out in the hot for several hours. Taking it slow, I was able to eat it all. Problem solved. But it was now 1:34pm and I had 52 miles left to go.

Noon report: 13.6 miles.

I noticed the wind pushing against me a little as I rode west. At least the highway has a good wide shoulder and is reasonably flat. OK-5 went north for a ways, and that riding went by quickly. I arrived in Walters at 2:35pm. Now for a turn back west. At 3:35pm I made my way through the construction on the overpass for I-44. Traffic really thinned out after that. I pretty much had the road to myself. I finally felt that I was in the Great Plains. Flat and open, and I was hearing meadowlarks.

There was another short jog north for OK-5, then straight west for the final push to Frederick. I was ready for that at 5:57pm - 20 miles left. At 6:45pm, I came up over a rise. I could see the town 13 miles away! That gave me hope that I would arrive at a reasonable time.

The surrounding fields were mostly grass with grazing cattle. Some wheat fields and a few corn fields, with cactus plants growing nearby. You certainly wouldn't see that in Illinois.

At 8:28pm, I arrived at Frederick's city limits sign. Rode into town and turned left at the intersection with US-183. The motel is at the south side of town. I took a few pictures of downtown as I went by.

I arrived at Tanglewood Motel at 8:48pm, and was warmly greeted by the motel owner. He knew of the area I was from, having lived in Illinois for a while. As I checked in, he gave me a bottle of cold water. My plan is to stay here two nights. I need to get caught up on journal postings and also do laundry.

Before I made it to my room, I had some parking lot races with a 4-year-old. He won both times.

After getting my bike in the room my first priority was to unload just enough to get to my last set of clean clothes, then take a shower. I finally feel presentable again. And I have a comfortable bed in an air conditioned room for some good sleeping, which I got started on at 11:55pm. Aah . . .

Jeff

Spent: $9.16 (Gatorade, soda) + $21.24 plus $5 (lunch) + $74.75 plus $5 (motel room) = $115.15

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a hackberry emperor.

https://www.inaturalist.org/guide_taxa/787238
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSome species of prickly pear cactus.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opuntia
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 1,102 miles (1,773 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kathleen JonesSo sorry you didn’t have enough gas in the tank to beat that kid. To be fair, they had a faster-looking bike.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Before we started the race the 4-year-old said, "You need to sit on your seat before we go." I told him it was easier for him than for me, since he had training wheels.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago