Day 26 - still at Frederick, OK - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2023

Day 26 - still at Frederick, OK

Today being a day off was for catching up on journal postings and doing laundry. I got started on all that at 6:55am, after a good night's sleep. Later on the morning I asked the motel owner if they had laundry machines for guest use. They don't, but there is a laundromat in town that Google Maps apparently doesn't know about. The motel owner showed me on the map on his phone where the place is. I also asked about a good place to eat lunch. He pointed to the green roof building just a block away.

At 11:30 I headed over to Taquizaz Grill. There's so many items on their menu that I had a hard time deciding. The Frederick Plate sounded local, so I ordered that along with sweet tea. Then had Sopapilla for dessert. I don't know what that is, but it came with a little bowl of honey, which I poured on. It was a treat.

After lunch I unloaded the bike then reloaded it with all the clothes that need washing, since the laundromat is over a mile away.

I'd received this morning an email message from my father-in-law, who's been following my trip closely and told me about some of the sights to be seen in Frederick. One of them is a statue of Louis Abernathy and Temple Abernathy. They traveled across parts of the country several times on their own. Their first trip was on horseback leaving from Frederick when they were 10 and 6 years old.

On my way to the laundromat, I stopped near the courthouse to see the statue. Nearby that is Pioneer Townsite Museum. They were open but without electrical power for some reason. They have a good size collection of stuff. I spend some time looking around and taking pictures. Back on my way, I noticed Frederick has an electric car charging station. Looks like it had power.

I was at the laundromat from 2:05pm to 3:45pm. I went over to nearby Hop and Sack for chocolate milk while there, then afterwards for Gatorade and some front handbag snacks. I was sidetracked on my way back to the motel also. I stopped at Sonic for a Lemonade Slush. Then, as I passed, l went in NAPA Auto Parts to get a 5/16-inch nut to use as a spacer for my bike's left side bottle generator bracket. NAPA gave me the nut for free!

Back at the motel I added the spacer to the mounting bracket. That put the generator wheel closer and more perpendicular with the tire. That should keep the end of the wheel from cutting a groove into the tire sidewall, as it was initially doing. I went on to check the tightness of bolts and gave a close inspection of the tires for debris. Everything looks OK.

At about 8:40pm I rode the bike to Pizza Hut. I had a Pepperoni Personal Pan Pizza and sweet tea. Their business here appears to be almost all carry-out - I was the only person dining in. Too cloudy tonight for a good sunset, but I did take a picture looking west from the Pizza Hut parking lot as I left.

Well I'm happy with what I got done today. Not everything got done, and I'm going to bed with what is supposed to be packed on the bike scattered all over this motel room. But it's 11:40pm and I'm going to bed. Tomorrow's another day. One that hopefully will get me into Texas.

Jeff

Spent: $74.75 plus $5 (motel room) + $14.71 plus $3 (lunch) + $5 (Pioneer Townsite Museum donation) + $6 (laundry) + $2.96 (chocolate milk) + $9.42 (Gatorade, front bag snacks) + $3.04 (Lemonade Slush) + $8.78 plus $2 (supper) = $134.66

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesIf I had to spray paint that one letter at a time I’d forget the T in refrigerator too.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Very good! I'd missed that.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Roger MealiffThanks for “taking us along” with your daily journals, Jeff. I love how you notice and photograph interesting things and beautiful scenery, and the unique experiences along the way.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Roger MealiffRoger,
Thanks! Glad to have you following along.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago