Day 20 - ending near Clayton, OK - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023

Day 20 - ending near Clayton, OK

Day 20 - Octavia, OK to Clayton, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

I heard a rooster at 4:35am this morning, but I didn't get up until 6:08am. Checked the weather radar. There was rain to the west. Then listened to my weather radio - possibility of rain in the afternoon.

Worked on report until 9:00am, when I stopped for breakfast. Ron stopped by and told me that rain was coming and offered that I could put my bike and gear under the pavilion. So I got the tent down next, and everything moved over to stay dry. I was just about done with the report at noon when it did start to rain. I had the thought then of staying here another night - maybe let the rain get out of the area. The rain stopped at 12:40pm. In the meantime, I'd decided that I would ride today rain or no rain, so I worked on packing the bike and setting it up for wet weather riding. I'm trying something new this year for holding down the plastic covering the rear cargo. Instead of using office clips to hold it down, I'm using 1/8-inch bungee-like cord and plastic hooks. It certainly was quicker, and looks like it will work.

I was heading toward Clayton State Park near Clayton, Oklahoma, and had planned for this to be another short day - just 36 miles. Dry weather for me for a while, according to the weather radar. After a popsicle treat, I was on my way at 1:13pm.

I continued west on OK-144. There weren't any places on my route today that serve food. I was a little concerned about that, but figured I'd eat lots out of my food bag when I got to the state park.

It was good riding today - some uphills, but it seemed I was going downhill a lot.

At 2:25pm, I arrived at the intersection for the road to Honobia. That road is off my route and uphill. There might be a place to eat there, but I couldn't tell since shortly after leaving the campground this afternoon I've had no cell phone signal connection. Later in the afternoon, I was hearing thunder, so stopped to put on my rubber boots and get out my rain pants and jacket. I was really missing being able to see the weather radar.

At 4:55pm it started to sprinkle and then rain at 5:05pm. I was passing through Nashoba a little later. The town's community center had a sign stating that there was a chili supper going on from 5 to 8 on Saturday. I said to myself, "This is Saturday and it's after 5:00!" I turned around and pulled up to the building. I popped in the door with all my rain gear on to ask if this event was open to the public. It was, and the meal was donation based. I went back outside, got rid of all the rain gear then went back in, signed in, and made my donation. The servers were very helpful in getting me set up with lots of food and said it was all-you-can-eat. What a treat this was for me, especially on a day when I didn't think I'd be eating a hot meal! There was an auction along with the meal and that got started before I was done eating. It was fun to watch the bidding. Seems to me the bidders were being very generous, though it was quality stuff they were auctioning. As I slipped out I asked one of the ladies what organization was putting this on. She said, "It's not an organization, it's just the community." I am so thankful that I got to be part of their community this evening.

When I got back outside the rain had stopped, so I left my rain gear off. I still had my rubber boots on, though. They go on so hard that once they're on they're not coming off until the end of the day. It was a little after 6:00pm now, but I didn't have too many more miles to go - just make it to the intersection with US-271, then 5 miles to the state park on US-271. I was at the intersection at 6:38pm, and the campground entrance at 7:27pm.

The campground office was closed and I didn't see any self check-in instructions, but the camping area did have a sign. I decided not to be as picky at site selection as I normally am. Turns out I have a decent site, and it is close to the bathrooms. No one else is camping in this 'Area 1' that I see. It lightly sprinkled as I set up the tent, then started raining more when I was done. I love it when it works out that way. With no internet connection, I wasn't able to send out my evening report, so I decided I'd just go to bed early. The rain stopped at 9:10pm and I was in my sleeping bag by 9:16am, happy to be in my dry tent and grateful for the unexpected supper.

Jeff

Spent: $20 (chili supper/auction donation) + $16 (campsite) = $36

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltAmerican ipecac... Yet another I have never seen?

http://www.southeasternflora.com/view_flora.php?plantid=2283
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kathleen JonesJeez, all this time I thought ipecac was a trade name! Glad it’s not used medicinally any more. Yuck.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I only know about ipecac from its use in an episode of the movie series "Anne of Green Gables" with Megan Follows.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 832 miles (1,339 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0