Anglesea to Geelong North Shore - Adelaide to Geelong Tour - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2021

Anglesea to Geelong North Shore

The End

Todays ride started with 5kms up  the B100. The traffic was much heavier than yesterday and although there was a decent shoulder on the road I can't say I enjoyed it. I moved onto a side access road which was much more pleasant.

Access Rd along side the B100
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were these pretty flowers next to the road
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPhoto matches well with common heath, "the floral emblem of Victoria."

http://anpsa.org.au/e-imp.html
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Back onto the B100 and off over to the other side on too a section of single track Komoot found for me. I must admit I was surprised.

Single track surprise
Heart 3 Comment 0
Very close to the highway, but still fun.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wonder who maintains it
Heart 1 Comment 0

Onto a small country road for a short distance and then into a section of the Otway National Park. Another surprise, I really should have looked at this route more carefully, but it's working out so well I'm just going to enjoy it.

A bike and boot cleaning station. I've never seen one like this before. The bike wheels go through a trough in the middle. It worked really well.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I followed the Southside track.
Heart 3 Comment 0
To Jerosite road
Heart 2 Comment 0
Down and then up to Bells Beach. The down was very fast 🙂
Heart 4 Comment 0

 I arrived at the Lorne- Queenscliff coastal reserve, Bells Beach car park. It was just so nice to sit and watch the waves and surfers. I've decided surfing is a bit like gambling. You wait for the right wave, then when you see one, you turn and place your bet in physical effort, hoping you picked the right one. Sometimes you get a good wave sometimes an amazing one. That's the gamble. They do look like they're having fun. 

Watching the surfers at Bells Beach
Heart 2 Comment 1
Jenni DallExcept that in this scenario the "loss" is just a little bit of good exercise!😀

On Saturday I got caught in a horrible rip and was pulled out to sea. It is the fifth time (we have a rippy coast here) and Stephen sold his board and has given up entering the ocean altogether.

I will not.

I figure it is not a pure-luck game, but one that can be learnt and calculated (like poker), and as the "win" is so worthwhile for me, I will keep playing and learning. So far I have managed to get out of them (after what felt like an endless terrifying time), and surely each time I learn a little bit more.

That is life, after all.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Towards Torque along the coast, from the surfer viewing point
Heart 2 Comment 0

 Komoot took me further along the road and then onto the Surf Coast trail. What a little gem.

Surf Coast walk looking towards Torque.
Heart 4 Comment 0

After a suggestion from a couple of local walkers on the track, I stopped on the edge of Torque at the Swell cafe. So many choices, with the help of a local lady in the queue I got the green chicken roti for lunch, yum!

Green Chicken Curry Roti from Swell Cafe, a local gem
Heart 3 Comment 0

Then back onto the Surf Coast trail. Torque is much much bigger than I thought. It turns out Swell cafe wasn't in Torque but in Jan Jus. Jan Jus and Torque are separated by Spring Creek but for me it feels like 1 big township.

Then I met Hercules. He has lived in Torque for 40 years and rides some of the Surf Coast trail regularly. He is giving his wife's ebike a spin as it doesn't get enough time out. Hercules also has an ebike.

Hercules e-bike is 3 yrs old and going well. It's an Avanti Explorer.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Hercules kindly offers to ride with me through Torquay until I turn off towards Geelong. It's also on his way home. It was lovely riding with Hercules and hearing about his life.

Saying goodbye to Hercules and the Surf Coast trail I head up the Horseshoe Bend road. It runs parallel to the B100 but is not nearly so busy.  There is only a few kilometres between where it feels like I left the Torque outer suburbs and hit the Geelong outer suburbs. 

I must have picked the right road, there are 2 other cycles also riding Horseshoe Bend Rd.
Heart 2 Comment 0

There are several new housing developments along the way so I imagine it will get busier but the road may also get upgraded judging by the newly developed intersections.

Due to road works I'm forced onto the Barwon Head road. It's busy, but it's only for a few kms before I hit the  Barwon River trail.

Barwon River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Barwon River Reserve trail markers
Heart 1 Comment 0

I followed this trail for many kilometres, it was very pleasant and reminded me of Linear Park in Adelaide.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally I had to leave the Barwon Reserve Trail. This involved a very very steep path up next to Hyland Street connecting onto the Gabrielle Blythe Linear Pathway. When I was at Swell cafe I talked to a table of MAMILs and they said the Esplanade in Geelong was worth riding. So I decided to alter my course and ride down Church Street. Looking at the map it had a bike lane most of the way. Except it's school pickup time, there are students everywhere. The bike lane is squeezed between the parked cars, school buses and other traffic. It's so busy I rode on the footpath. I did momentarily wonder if it's legal in Victoria like in South Australia and then I decided I didn't care.

Over the Church Street bridge. I feel like a country bumpkin. 6 lanes of traffic and 2 railway lines.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally I made the Esplanade and there is a pathway right next to the water. 

This photo made me realise the day was getting away from me.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Stingaree Bay looking the other way
Heart 2 Comment 0

It's taken me all day to ride 60kms. I think I've been subconsciously dawdling taking my time because after today the riding part of my trip will be over. I finally made my hotel at 4:30pm, it's nice. Monti just fits through the doorway.

My room at the Nightcap Hotel
Heart 2 Comment 0

My Adelaide to Geelong bike tour is over. Just tomorrows train trip and I'll be back home. 

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 1,079 km (670 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Robert DaviesCongratulations, awesome adventure. Thanks for sharing
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierCongrats on reaching your destination! It was fun traveling along with you through your journal.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyWell done Brianna!

I look forward to reading your next trip!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Deleted AccountExcellent trip Brianna and a well written journal. I sensed you were very nervous to start with but you soon settled into it very nicely indeed. The short "warm up" ride you did prior was very smart.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago