Apollo Bay to Anglesea - Adelaide to Geelong Tour - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2021

Apollo Bay to Anglesea

I headed out at 8:45am.  I could have left earlier but I'm expecting more traffic today so I thought I'd give the locals time to get to school and work first.

The road mostly tracks along the coast today, meaning lots of sea views. There was a shoulder available in some form along the whole road today.

Ocean views are the order of the day
Heart 5 Comment 1
Deleted AccountSomething special about riding alongside the Ocean
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Hilda and Bill's road works warning, back in Warrnambool, soon came up as I had to stop for road works for the first time today.

While waiting my turn at the road works stop, I took this photo of where I'd come from
Heart 7 Comment 0

Road works stop 3 was for a full 10 mins, while they hosted wire chain mess up the cliff to stop rocks coming down onto the road.

Queued for 10mins waiting for the road to clear.
Heart 1 Comment 0
So I took a photo of my view. Look at that blue sea.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I arrived in Lorne and had a walk along the jetty.

The Grand Pacific Hotel from the Lorne jetty.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I stopped in Lorne for lunch. Many food business where closed, including the bakery and creperie.  So I settled on a fish burger from a fish and chip shop. The Sulphur Crested Cockatoo's like the food here to.  I've never see Cockies behave like this. I'm told they are like this all over Lorne.

Cockies eyeing off a gentleman's burger and chips.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Then more sea views and road works. I learnt to head down to the person with the lollipop sign, riding past the parked cars.  We would wait for all the motor vehicles to go past first and then I'd ride through at the end. The lollipop personal where all friendly and professional about their jobs 

Heart 3 Comment 0

I arrived at the Great Ocean Road archway, so I had to get a photo. A young couple from Adelaide ( would you believe) kindly helped.

We made sure to get everyone in the photo
Heart 8 Comment 0
I just had to take a photo of this house, it's so unusual.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Deleted AccountWouldn't take long to mow the lawn 😁
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jenni DallKeen to get a view!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

As I travelled from Lorne to Anglesea there was a gradual increase in traffic. I'm expecting more increases tomorrow as I get closer to Geelong.

Today's ride: 76 km (47 miles)
Total: 1,016 km (631 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0