Adelaide to Geelong - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2024

Adelaide to Geelong

A day on the train

Train trip today, this means lots of time to check emails, listen to a pod casts, snooze and write something here.

Ready as can be
Heart 1 Comment 0

Very early start, 6am check in. One of those hurry up and wait scenarios as I need to check in like everyone else but then wait on the platform with my bike. My bike is the very last thing to be loaded. All looks a bit chaotic not like Europe where there are obvious bike spots, we really just stashed her at the end of the luggage carriage. I used a small strap to put the back brake on, so hopefully Lexi travels ok.

Classic, hurry up and wait moment.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Robert DaviesThe waiting is hardest part
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Brianna DallIt sure is. By the time we got the bike settled the platform was empty and the train was waiting for little old me, lol
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Through the Adelaide hills
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mt Lofty station, we didn't stop. Hence the reflection in the window
Heart 0 Comment 0
Through Murray Bridge. I missed photographing the bridge but got one of the house boats
Heart 1 Comment 0

A couple of hours later Bordertown. It's sits on the SA side. The countryside is getting more arid but still lots of sheep around. The railway station has seen better days. One local gentleman got off and said the train was nicer than catching the bus.

As the sign says.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Old Bordertown station building has been boarded up.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We then had stops in Dimboola, Nhill, Horsham all uneventful as a few people got on or off the train.

Grampians
Heart 2 Comment 0

The views of the Grampians always bring back good memories.  

As a teenager with my family and close friends, when I was immediately taken with its beauty for the first time. 

With Ian a few decades ago now, when I locked the keys in the car. A lesson learnt for life, about always taking a set of car keys EACH on car holidays. This particular lesson was only just passed onto my son last weekend when he and his girlfriend headed off to Melrose cycling. 

And then taking our own children there for a camping trip and walking around the wonderland sites. 

Stawell train station
Heart 1 Comment 0

Next stop Stawell. I liked the green doors on the station even though green is not usually my thing. Yellow would have been better of course. We picked up one lone back packer and off again...

The train arrived in Geelong, north shore station on time, 5:30pm. The light was already fading.  A quick change into my cycling shoes and google maps guide me to my hotel room for the night. The reception lady couldn't hide her shock when I turned up with Lexi, but she recovered well.

Disappearing bike paths are always fun in a strange city.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My home for the night. To get into this room there is an air lock between the corridor for my room and the neighbouring room. Bit tricky getting Lexi through both doors at once.
Heart 1 Comment 0

And it appears I have brought a hitch hiker with me. Not sure how I feel about the fact that it was probably there when I left the train!

Spider! Huntsman I'd say. No spiders were harmed in making this photo, it's now outside on the balcony.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltGood on you for letting it out!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Brianna DallTo Bill ShaneyfeltIt gave me a good fright though lol
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Brianna DallNo doubt
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Good first day. Now the real cycling starts tomorrow.

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 5 km (3 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0