Geelong To Rye - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

April 12, 2024

Geelong To Rye

The Touring Begins

Out the door at 8:30am after re-juggling the apartment doors. It seemed harder to get out than in.  Good time as there was no tents etc to pack up.

I planned this trip months ago and some days just fall out easily and I never revisit them, other sections takes days to puzzle out. Today was the former so I was surprised to find most of the ride is on a rail trail. A very nice start to the trip.

What a beautiful morning!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Lots of local cyclists out too.

Stations along the way were cute.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In no time at all I was in drysdale. Well that called for the first bakery of the trip.

Yum!
Heart 2 Comment 0

There will be other days where I won't see any towns between camps. Sad.

While having morning tea, I purchase my ticket for the 12 noon ferry to Sorrento, it's  $1 cheaper if I buy it online. Now I have a schedule, yicks!  

The railtrail turns to a gravel surface, nice and compact so doesn't slow me down much. 

Mmm maybe it switched to gravel because they spent the budget on that bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We made in a nice time and lined up with the cars in the motor bike lane.

Lexi is waiting, it's her first ferry crossing lol
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our ride across the bay
Heart 1 Comment 0

The ferry ride was uneventful and I was soon on my way to see the Mornington Peninsula national parks version of London Bridge. I dubbed the 'little one'. It was mesmerising watching the water swirl around any through it 

London Bridge
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lexi and London Bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I was heading off a guy started to fly, he just lifted off the ground. I'm not sure what he was using but I'm going to call it a kite. There was no structure it to, looked super dangerous as I imagine it could just ball up if there wasn't enough wind. I wouldn't want my kids doing that. 

That looks cool, nice colours too.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ok now it looks dangerous. Does your mother know you're doing that?
Heart 1 Comment 0

I headed to Rye my destination for the day. I had some curiosity to satisfy.

My mum spent her childhood at Rye all Christmas school holidays and every weekend until Easter. Initially just in a caravan on the foreshore but later they also built a small 2 bedroom holiday house walking distance for the caravan.  My mum doesn't like the beach as she sunburns way to easily. I spend several of my school holidays there too, only a week or so though, but I have fond memories. My puzzle was to find my grandparents holiday house. I think I did but someone add a second storey to it!

Nan is that the right one?
Heart 2 Comment 1
Robert DaviesProof weeding can have a surprising outcome. :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I asked a lady weeding her garden, yes she looked old but more to the point her house looked original. There has been a lot of renewal going on and the new houses are huge in comparison. She has been in Rye for almost 50 years. Anyway she confirmed they did add a second storey. Wow! 

Are part of my nastalga tour I booked to camp in the Rye Foreshore campgrounds. Near were I remember my grandparents van being. Nice idea in the 1970's when there wasn't a main road right next door.

My spot for the night.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I brought ear plugs and an eye mask. I might need both night.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 70 km (43 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0