Day 88: Bidjar Nigoulin to Lake Brockman - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2022

Day 88: Bidjar Nigoulin to Lake Brockman

Start: 9 am
Distance: 35 km
Ride time:  2:15hours
Average:  16km/hr 
Max: 44km/hr
Finish: 1:15pm

It was cold last night. I have an old down sleeping bag. It's quite big and is comfy to snuggle in to. I think some down has fallen out of it over the years. 

The last few nights I've been sleeping with my jumper and socks on. This works well except for my legs. Tonight the BoM forecasts it will get down to 0 degrees. I might sleep in my rain pants.

Serena will send me some wool thermal pants and my possum fur beanie. That will keep me warm in all of the cold weather.

I knew I had a short day so I enjoyed another lie in. This hut is surrounded by thick forest and there wasn't much morning sunshine to warm up in.

Crossing a small stream.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Proceeding through a tunnel with a dedicated cycling lane.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This water crossing was only about 1 foot deep so I rode through it.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Today's fallen tree pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some open track.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Alcoa kindly allows cyclists past their locked gates.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A bulldozer rolling some rocks down a hill.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sometimes the trail uses big gravel roads.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I had to walk my bike through this soft loam sand. The thickest track you see is from a trailbike.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is a wide area of moss-covered rock.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is Lake Brockman. It was dammed in 1963.
Heart 6 Comment 0

There is some park camping around the lake for $11 I think. I wanted a hot shower and some real food so I rode to the caravan park on the other side of the lake.

It has a cafe that was open. The staff were friendly and the cafe was warm and toasty. I had made the right decision to stay here. If it was summer, I would stay on the other side of the lake and wash in the lake. It's way too cold for that now.

I ordered some fish for lunch. The cafe closes at 3pm today, so I ordered a pizza which I will heat up in the camp kitchen microwave tonight.

Lucy didn't know what Marroning was and neither did I. This notice was displayed in the cafe.
Heart 2 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltCrayfish here in the USA. Yours are far larger than ours!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crayfish
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThey look tasty!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rita McCarthyIn Victoria we call them yabbies.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
$40! This is with a $3 discount.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The kind lady let me camp in a powered site (at an unpowered site price) so I could be next to the camp kitchen. 

It was a cold day. The lady even offered to lend me a doona so I didn't freeze. I bought a cheap touristy beanie to keep me going until my beanie arrives from Serena. 

The park is almost empty so I feel like I am still camping on the trail.

It's nice to have a short day. I bought 2 small books in Perth to read and I haven't started either of them. I don't know where the time goes.

Today's ride: 35 km (22 miles)
Total: 4,917 km (3,053 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rita McCarthyThat was very kind of her. Hopefully your nights get warmer soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago