Day 89: Lake Brockman to Yarri - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2022

Day 89: Lake Brockman to Yarri

Start: 8 am
Distance:  46km
Ride time:  3:50hours
Average:  12km/hr 
Max:  41km/hr
Finish: 1pm

Last night wasn't too cold.

I woke up and saw Skippy.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Some open single track.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A small section of loam I had to walk through.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Today's first downed tree across the trail.
Heart 4 Comment 0
These are fresh gum leaves after a fire.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A big puddle that I gingerly rode through.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A small bridge through some tea tree.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A creek crossing.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today I had to take a detour for a couple kms due to logging operations. 

It followed the power lines.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was happy to be out of the forest for a short while so I could enjoy the morning sunshine.

My bike just fitted underneath these branches.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The track continued to get worse. I checked the App and realised I had made a wrong turn. Thankfully it only took 10 minutes to get back on the trail. The App is very user friendly. 

This is the trail that I missed.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had lots of downhill to finish at the hut. And a scared emu ran across the track in front of me. 

Hello!
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyGreat to see your smiling face and here your enjoying the ride. Big difference from Perth!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After I took this pic, my photo remote thingy stopped working. Phooey.

A couple maintenance people turned up to check on the hut and supply toilet paper. I thanked them for an awesome trail.

This hut is located on a small hill.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Free! Noone else stayed at the hut.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 4,963 km (3,082 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0