Day 86: Dandalup to Dwellingup - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2022

Day 86: Dandalup to Dwellingup

Start: 9:30 am
Distance:  46km
Ride time:  4:03hours
Average:  11km/hr 
Max:45 km/hr
Finish: 2:20pm

No one else turned up last night. I listened to the water tank tap leaking a lot. 

It was reported a year ago and still hasn't been fixed.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Nevertheless I enjoyed a long lie in.

Some great single track in the morning.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This is pea gravel. They're little spherical pebbles that don't compact down.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is a downhill section of loose pea gravel.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Going down this section was like I was on snow. There is very little steering or control. I almost wiped out a few times. 

The ground surface changed lots throughout the day. I was on a rocky section when my front panniers kept coming loose. A close inspection revealed one clip on each of them had broken the lever that secured the underneath of the front rack. 

I used a couple of cable ties to fix it.
Heart 6 Comment 3
Lednar De NallohThe Munda Biddi will take it's toll, I always carry some wire which is stronger than plastic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyGreat idea. Where do you buy just a small piece of wire from?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lednar De NallohSometimes on the side of the road.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

All my gear is held together with cable ties or gaffa tape it seems.

This pretty little flower made me happy. There were many of them growing on a plant close to the ground.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It could be Hibbertia ovata.

Some lovely smooth barked gums.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Detouring around deep puddles.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The trail took a few kms detour around this large conveyor.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Later I found out it's carrying bauxite to make aluminium for Alcoa.

There were lots of hills today. It was tough riding up them. I had to walk short sections of pea gravel where I could get no traction.

I was pretty sweaty going up the hill and then chilly going downhill. I couldn't imagine doing this in Summer.

I didn't see any cyclists today.

I made it.
Heart 7 Comment 0

This is where the cycling Munda Biddi Trail and the walking Bibbulmun Track meet.

Maybe I'll come back and walk the Bibbulmun one day.

I saw an old school steam train when I arrived in Dwellingup.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I'm staying in a campground in town.

This is the first time I've put up my new tent. This is the inner. I can't remember the name. I'll mention it tomorrow.
Heart 3 Comment 0
With the outer attached. $35 camping fee.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I went to the store and bought a spoon. Somehow I lost my spoon before Perth but didn't realise it until I was on the trail.

I've been eating my morning porridge with a fork.

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 4,854 km (3,014 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltHad plastic spoons break or lost spoons a few times... A good sharp knife and some wood made serviceable replacements with a bit of effort.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHi Bill, it made me think of the TV show Alone where some people made their own spoons. I was too lazy.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago