Day 85: Wungong to Dandelup - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2022

Day 85: Wungong to Dandelup

Start: 8:30 am
Distance:  60km
Ride time:  4:43hours
Average:  13km/hr 
Max: 41km/hr
Finish: 4pm

Last night after I hoped into bed early, 4 young guys arrived. They were on a weekend trip from Jarrahdale. They were nice and kept to themselves. I guess they've seen many cyclists on the trail and are bored with the usual conversion. 

It was very cold last night. I guess it was 0 degrees. My water bottle didn't freeze.

The lighter and the metho was very difficult to light.

I saw several trees with the bark rubbed off. I guess it's feral deer, I'm not sure?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Annie O'SheaThere's alot of birds who rip bark off trees to get to the bugs underneath
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks mum. I still think it's deer.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The day started with a gentle down hill.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Firewood collectors didn't take all of this timber because it had knots and would be hard to split.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I would see a total of 14 vehicles out collecting wood this morning. Some of them blocked the path completely. I didn't mind. I used to collect firewood a long time ago.

This sign prohibits many things yet firewood collecting must be okay.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Lucy MartinI had to look up marroning (spellcheck doesn’t know what it is either). Now I know 😊
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I definitely prefer the sound of red-bellied black cockatoos over the noise of chainsaws.

Single track through banksias.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaThat looks abit rough
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Single track through she oaks.
Heart 5 Comment 0

She oaks.

I liked the colour of this wattle.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I entered this park. There were a couple trail bikes ignoring this sign.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A track with a big washout.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Today's first obstacle.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I had a veggie burger for lunch at Jarrahdale and thought about stopping for the day. There is limited accommodation options and I still had all afternoon so I continued on.

This was a big water crossing.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had to take a big detour through the scrub to avoid having to go through it. 

This is my detour. I still ended up a bit wet.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Crossing North Dandalup Dam.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I don't know the purpose of this structure?
Heart 2 Comment 2
Lucy MartinPrincipal spillway (?) perhaps
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Lucy but I saw the spillway off to the side.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The view downhill. This has a nice picnic area and I considered doing a stealth camp here.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I saw 6 other day cyclists going north bound and several other day walkers.

Today was very hilly. After one final big hill I made it to the camp shelter. There is no one else here.

Today had been rough on my panniers:

A rear pannier with a hole.
Heart 3 Comment 0
One front pannier has a cracked attachment.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The same pannier lost a bolt for the bottom attachment.
Heart 2 Comment 0

These have occurred from hitting rocks. Sometimes the track is too narrow for my panniers and I forget to slow down.

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 4,808 km (2,986 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0