Day 72: Dongara to Freshwater Point North - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2022

Day 72: Dongara to Freshwater Point North

Start: 8:15 am
Distance:  52km
Ride time: 3:16 hours
Average:  16km/hr 
Max:  31km/hr
Finish: 1:20pm

I slept well with no trucks or trains and I had the relaxing sound of waves. It rained a little before I got up just to wet the tent.

Somehow I managed to dodge rain storms like this all day.
Heart 9 Comment 0
I saw cows.
Heart 4 Comment 0
And goats.
Heart 3 Comment 0
After a while I turned right to stay along the coast.
Heart 7 Comment 0

There was a bit less traffic and no more trucks.

Just after a car went past, a feral cat crossed the road in front of me. I've had the same thing happen with dingos up north. The animals are very accustomed to the traffic, but they are surprised by the silent cyclist.

Soon after, I came to Cliff Head. 

I put my camping fee in the box.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Mike AylingIs a bike a vehicle?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyOn the provided pay envelope they specifically mentioned hikers and cyclists. They want everyone to pay.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

There are several places to camp along the beach. I did another 10 kms to my camping spot.

I saw a pretty flower.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It might be a Alyogyne hakeifolia.

This is the track to Freshwater Point North.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaLooks a tad rough , hope it improves
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It is a narrow 4WD track. It isn't signposted from the main road. It doesn't look like anyone has been here for a long time. I will be surprised if the rangers find me down here.

The beach is covered in seaweed. I have the whole beach to myself.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The water is calm. I walked in to waist height and was too much of a wuss to dive under. It was cold.

Another rain storm out at sea.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I walked along the beach and saw:

A blue bottle jellyfish.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Physalia physalis.

A tiny spiral shell.
Heart 7 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltFound it! Ram's horn squid.

https://animalia.bio/spirula
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill. I think you identified the same shell when I was on the east coast of Australia last year.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified this as a rams horn squid

And a crab hiding in the seaweed.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Near my campsite I saw two small succulent flowers:

Heart 3 Comment 0
This one had heaps of honey bees on the flowers.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Tetragonia implexicoma.

This gull was walking along the waters edge and eating things.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was peaceful just watching the ocean while sitting on the beach. A perfect way to end the day.

I can't be any closer to the beach than this. No toilet, shower or drinking water. What an awesome spot.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Kerrie McCarthyHow awesome is that ❤️
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chicken and corn soup for dinner.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Sunset over the Indian Ocean. $20.
Heart 11 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyLove seeing the sunsets over the ocean.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 52 km (32 miles)
Total: 4,265 km (2,649 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0