Day 65: Overlander roadhouse to Billabong - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2022

Day 65: Overlander roadhouse to Billabong

Start: 9:45 am
Distance:  49km
Ride time:  2:53hours
Average: 17 km/hr 
Max: 37km/hr
Finish: 1:05 pm

I was lazy this morning. It was cold. Maybe 5 degrees Celsius. There was a heavy dew. As usual I left my outer tent door open and some of the moisture came into the tent.

This may be my latest start to a riding day. I had an omelette for breaky in the roadhouse. 

Morning road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had a small headwind and sidewind. The sky became overcast and it was a little cool.

My day wasn't big so I took the time to look at some flowers. It felt good to stop often. Sometimes I see nice flowers while I'm doing a good speed or I've got a long distance to go so I don't want to stop.

Please forgive me if I've posted pics of the same flower twice.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 1
Annie O'SheaBeautiful, flowers are something to remind us what a wonderful world we live in
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
This is my favourite flower of the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 1
Annie O'Sheanow that ones unusual, love it
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The vegetation height increased. Today's tree pic.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I arrived at Billabong at lunchtime. There is a roadhouse and a separate restaurant/cafe. 

The roadhouse has free camping!
Heart 6 Comment 0

The restaurant serves beer. The menu is very basic and similar to the roadhouse.

I will share my business between the two places.

Rain is forecast for tomorrow. I am due for a rest day so I will take it tomorrow. 

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 km (30 miles)
Total: 3,885 km (2,413 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltWonderful assortment of flowers! Thanks for posting them. Unfortunately, I do not have time to dig through the internet to find IDs for them currently... Seems to be happening more often recently.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago