Day 66: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2022

Day 66: Rest day

It rained most of the day. My tent leaked. Very frustrating. 

Maybe I bought the wrong type of tent, but either way this one is poorly designed. 

I had closed the lids on my panniers and not clipped them securely. One of the lids came open in strong winds and then filled with a little puddle of water. Everything in there was a bit wet. Hopefully I can dry it out tomorrow. 

I had a restful day except someone stole my charger and powerbank that was charging in the toilets.

I thought it was safe as only people staying here should be using those toilets. They are close to the car park so anyone can walk in there.

I had even sought permission from a roadhouse worker to do it. In almost every stop I will charge my things and leave them unattended. There is a risk to this and I'm willing to cope with the outcome. One theft in 11,000kms or 7 months is pretty good I reckon.

I'll buy a replacement in Geraldton

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Veronica JoinerVery disappointing
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyIt is a little. I'm over it now. It will cost a few dollars to replace but it hasn't delayed my ride so I don't care.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott DiamondWow stolen charger. That sucks. I often wonder/worry about stuff being stolen but don't have any solution.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI was a bit annoyed at the time. Now I carry 2 chargers and 2 batteries. It's obviously extra weight but now I don't care if one gets stolen. So I no longer am concerned when I leave it plugged in while unattended somewhere.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago