Day 47: Cane River to Nanutarra roadhouse - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2022

Day 47: Cane River to Nanutarra roadhouse

Start: 8:55 am
Distance: 62 km
Ride time: 3:15 hours
Average: 19 km/hr
Max: 32 km/hr
Finish:  12:40 pm

It was a peaceful night and the first time I've slept under a bridge.

Morning road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This grevillea stood out with bright yellow flowers.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Close up.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltQuite the flower!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyGrevilleas are one of my favourite flowers.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mt Murray.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The terrain was still undulating and I had a tailwind making the ride pleasant. 

I arrived at the roadhouse and had lunch and set up my tent.

Then 2 other cycle tourists arrived. One of their bikes is electric.
Heart 5 Comment 0
It was Bruce and Bob.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Last May, I was at Pinnarendi Station, about 5,000kms from where I am now. An unknown person had left some food items for me on the roadside. See here.

The day I left Pinnarendi Station, I had heard there were 2 cyclists arriving that same night. 

Because someone had done me a good deed, I paid for the cyclists dinner before I left that morning. Trying to pass on some good karma.

Those 2 cyclists turned out to be Bruce and Bob. What an amazing coincidence to run into them on the other side of the country a year later!

They are riding from Lake Macquarie to Perth.

They are nice guys and bought me dinner and wine.
Heart 9 Comment 0

It was a happy afternoon and evening. They had also ridden with Josè for a week.

$15.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rita McCarthySo lovely to hear about all the welcoming people along the way. Pity about the one that wouldn’t give you water. Perhaps he only had a little?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyShe had a full tank of water but wouldn't help me. She was quite rude.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 2,882 km (1,790 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Chris DAVIDSONDamn that is hard core going electric, a flat battery will be fatal.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyBob carried a spare battery. His bike weighed 30kgs with one battery without all his bags.

His motor wasn't ideal as he couldn't free wheel going down a hill.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago