Day 95: Mount Garnet to Pinnarendi Station - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2021

Day 95: Mount Garnet to Pinnarendi Station

Start: 8:50am
Distance: 57kms
Ride time: 3:30hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 50km/hr 
Finish: 1pm

I saw this sign in the morning.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A couple hours later I saw this big fella. He's got 4 trailers!
Heart 6 Comment 0

I saw about 6 more of these road trains today.

Crossing 20 Mile Creek.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I crossed a few small creeks today. On most of them the highway was reduced to one lane to cross the bridges. 

I didn't want to get stuck on a bridge when a road train came so there are no more creek pics today.

The traffic was friendly today, very friendly.

I later counted 28 waves from people. Maybe one in every 4 cars that passed me.

But that wasn't all of the kindness I would receive.

After riding for about 30kms I had a seat at this rest stop.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was to pass no shops or towns today.

The road was undulating with no steep sections. Gentle climbs and descents.

On one climb, a Winnebago type vehicle slowed down as they passed me with both people cheering and waving at me.

It gave me a big boost that other people were enthusiastic about what I was doing.

A couple kms down the road I saw a note taped to a road marker.
Heart 3 Comment 0
My curiosity went into overdrive. What is it all about?
Heart 4 Comment 0
50 metres down the road, this was the next note.
Heart 8 Comment 0
At the base of the road marker was a bag filled with goodies!
Heart 10 Comment 4
Deleted AccountHow good's that!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Annie O'SheaThat great stuff, old you country people are the best especially out west.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rodney PrestonThat’s so cool that they did that!! 😀
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyIndeed. It's going to be hard to beat that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

What an exceedingly kind and generous thing to do. It made me very happy.😁

It would have taken some time to put all of the goodies together and tape up the notes. Even the beer was wrapped in paper towel to keep it cold until I found it.

I wish every cycle tourist could get a bag of goodies in the middle of nowhere.

The beer didn't last long.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I rarely drink alcohol these days. I last drank a beer about 3 years ago. I was quite happy to have this one.

The notes were written on scrap mailing papers. There was a name and address in small print on one of them.

I think he/she is an anesthesiologist. 

I will send them a thank you note when I get to a big town.

After 55kms I was almost at today's destination.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I was still smiling from the gift.

I checked in with one of the hosts, Nadine. She was nice and friendly too.

She has a kitchen and makes coffee and food sometimes.

She reheated a pizza from last night for my lunch. Yummy!
Heart 2 Comment 0

After the pizza, I ate some of the jelly lollies from my cycling guardian angels.

I had a big area to place my tent. $20/night.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is looking at the rest of the camping area from my tent.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I won't have to worry about any noise from traffic or other campers.

Pinnarendi Station is a fifth generation Brahman cross cattle farm. 

Meet Licka.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was yet to have a shower and she licked my arms clean of salt and sunscreen.

She liked lots of pats and even licked my top.

Meet Kicka.
Heart 2 Comment 0

She was also friendly and didn't try to kick me.

There are 3kms of walking track through the bush here. I checked it out this evening and saw wallabies and birds.

I saw a double barred finch.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Double barred finch.

And a big dam.
Heart 4 Comment 0

A fantastic day.

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 4,203 km (2,610 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Annie O'SheaI meant to say, I told you country people are the best
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
tony rockType your comment here
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
tony rockHi Vince.
.
Great story mate. From now on I will be keeping a closer eye on road markers for beers.
.
May the wind be always at your back.
.
Tony and Sandra
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks to you buddy, I had a strong tailwind today.

I hope the bicycle gaurdian angels send you beer on your bike rides too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyWhat a lovely surprise! Especially in the middle of nowhere.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyIt was a very nice thing for a random stranger to do for me.

Still makes me smile.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham SmithThat’s a great story Vince. A roadside gift. Brilliant.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago