Day 39: Pardoo roadhouse to De Grey rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2022

Day 39: Pardoo roadhouse to De Grey rest area

Start: 8:20 am
Distance: 73 km
Ride time: 3:09 hours
Average: 23 km/hr
Max: 34 km/hr
Finish:  12 pm

Pardoo River was very muddy.
Heart 6 Comment 0
There were some distant hills on the horizon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 8 Comment 0

The wind is still here and coming strong from the east mostly. I was heading in a south westerly direction so it helped me a lot. Today's average speed was 23km/hr. That's my highest average so far.

I was glad to be going quickly because there are a lot of flies about.

I made it to the rest area at lunch time. It's a large area with lots of other campers staying here.

The biohazard explained.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltCockleburs are bad! Sometimes I get them stuck all over my pants, shoes and socks if I don't watch where I am walking while fishing.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xanthium
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I didn't see any burrs. I walked through the biohazard area as I need water to live.

The De Grey River.
Heart 6 Comment 0

The water was a little murky. I filled up a water bladder for tonight and tomorrow. I wasn't sure about crocodiles so I didn't swim. I'm not sure how far south they go. Hopefully I won't have to worry about them soon.

The different aboriginal language groups I will pass through.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Free!
Heart 8 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 2,257 km (1,402 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0