Day 40: De Grey rest area to South Hedland - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2022

Day 40: De Grey rest area to South Hedland

Start: 8:45 am
Distance: 79 km
Ride time: 3:14 hours
Average: 25 km/hr (Wahoo!)
Max: 39km/hr
Finish: 1 pm

Today was a lazy day. I didn't want to get up.

I got up and had my usual porridge and honey while I watched other campers pack up and depart. Some people came over for a chat.

The De Grey River from the bridge.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The wind was in my favour again.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Although I'm heading south, today was more westerly.

The Strelley River.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Some interesting geology:

Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
The dry Petermarer Creek.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lots of big termite mounds and green grass.
Heart 6 Comment 0

About 50kms from Port Hedland, there is a mine site. I was passed by many road trains going to and fro.

These monstrous things are 60 metres long and have 138 tyres.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Needless to say, I got off the road when they went by.

There should be a welcome to country for every region.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I must be in a big town as they have dedicated bicycle paths. Thank you Port Hedland.
Heart 9 Comment 0
I found this in a servo. Tastes like chicken leather.
Heart 6 Comment 3
Lucy MartinThanks for my morning laugh 🤣
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingI have heard that crocodile tastes like chicken!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHappy to help.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I made it to the Blackrock Tourist Park. Put up my tent and had a shower and a shave. So fresh.

Usually I just rinse my clothes while taking a shower. Today I used a modern washing machine with powder. It made a huge difference. Everything is so clean! I should do this more often so I don't look like a homeless person.

There's an Italian restaurant on site. It's the best pizza of the trip!
Heart 11 Comment 4
Lednar De NallohThat looks like a great pizza alright, it won't entice me to head to Port Hedland though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Veronica JoinerPort Hedland was one of the towns we missed as we went inland to Tom Price and Marble Bar.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyHahaha. You're not missing much.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYou didn't miss much.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
A powered, red sand camp site. $50.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Lednar De NallohYou're in mining, boomtown, ripoff country I suppose.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYou're right and it could always be worse.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 79 km (49 miles)
Total: 2,336 km (1,451 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0