Day 37: Sandfire roadhouse to 80 Mile Beach - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2022

Day 37: Sandfire roadhouse to 80 Mile Beach

Start: 7:40 am
Distance: 56 km
Ride time: 2:42 hours
Average: 21 km/hr
Max: 39 km/hr
Finish:  10:30 am

I found one of the missing pegs from yesterday arvo. Yippee.

I waited for the roadhouse to open so I could get some bacon and egg toasties for breakfast. 

The wind was strong like the last few days except today I was heading more westerly. This made the wind more like a tailwind.

It was amazing. At times I was in top gear, cruising along at 38km/hr. I hope this continues tomorrow.

Today's road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is a line of caterpillars crossing the road.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltTo quote a guy I knew who worked with toxic chemicals... "Don't git none on ya!"

Processionary caterpillar hairs cause severe allergic skin reactions.

https://www.australiangeographic.com.au/fact-file/processionary-caterpillars/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthySpot on. Thank you Bill!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified these as processionary caterpillars.  Thank you Bill.

I've seen them the last few days. The trains last for 1.5 metres.

When I first saw them I thought it was a skinny hairy snake.

After 47kms, I reached the turnoff to 80 Mile Beach caravan park. It is 9kms to the park.

The road was corrugated and sandy but not as bad as the Barn Hill road a few days ago.

Their driveway.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I scored a grassy and shady site for $28.
Heart 8 Comment 0

While I was setting up a kind man came over and lent me his hammer as I was trying to hit the pegs in with a small rock.

The wind made the water murky.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I didn't swim.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Mike AylingThey don't mention sharks!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I'm not sure I believe the signs. The water was very cold anyway.

You can drive on the beach. It was filled with fisherman.
Heart 3 Comment 0

During November and December the flatback turtle nests along the beach.

Flat back turtles.

My mattress was getting a little festy so I gave it a good scrub.

Another yummy dinner.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another sunset pic.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Another yummy dinner.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another sunset pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There is not enough phone reception here to update my blog.  I'll get it up to date when I arrive in Port Hedland. 

Today's ride: 56 km (35 miles)
Total: 2,078 km (1,290 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0