Day 34: Roebuck Plains roadhouse to Barn Hill Station - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2022

Day 34: Roebuck Plains roadhouse to Barn Hill Station

Start: 7:30 am
Distance: 108km
Ride time: 6:10 hours
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 28km/hr
Finish: 2:45 pm

I was a bit lazy getting up. My alarm went off at 5:15am and I fell asleep again.

I enjoyed a good breakfast at the roadhouse and bought a salad sandwich for the road.

Morning road pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I had a good shoulder most of the day.

It felt great to be heading south to Perth.

For the first 20kms I was crossing the Roebuck Plains.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The plains were difficult to cross. I had a terrible crosswind. I could only manage 12km/hr.

As the day wore on the road changed direction slightly and the wind wasn't as bad.

I saw this pretty flower.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I think it's a grevillea. 

Today's tree pic is a flowering wattle.
Heart 3 Comment 0

After 99kms, I reached the turn off for Barn Hill Station.

The road is 9kms long and it is very bad for cycling.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It's corrugated sand. Horrible to ride through. Eventually I made it.

When I checked in, the man asked if I had just been for a swim. I was drenched in sweat and salt stains.

I bought a cold soft drink and some fruit then set up my tent.

This is the view from my tent.
Heart 10 Comment 0
I walked down to the beach and had a swim. It was great.
Heart 10 Comment 0

On the way I spotted a couple of nice flowers.

Heart 7 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltFound an image match! Mulla mulla.

http://www.booyongconservation.com/mulla-mulla/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaWow that's an amazing flower
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyAnother perfect ID. Thank you for your effort Bill.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyYeh, it's amazing seeing a colour other than red dust.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified this as a mulla mulla. Thank you Bill.

Heart 9 Comment 0
$45.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Yummy dinner.
Heart 10 Comment 0

Today's ride: 108 km (67 miles)
Total: 1,814 km (1,126 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott DiamondCatching up on your blog. Met you at Salmon gums and I started reading your blog then and now working my way back). Can't believe how expensive some of these caravan parks are! Not as if you are in Sydney.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyG'day Scott. I'm following your blog too! Today's camp only cost me $12. There is absolutely no consistency with the price of camp sites in Australia.
Tailwinds to you and Brennie.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago