Day 33: Broome to Roebuck Plains roadhouse - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2022

Day 33: Broome to Roebuck Plains roadhouse

Start: 8am
Distance: 41km
Ride time: 2:42 hours
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 30km/hr
Finish: 12:10 pm

I had a little sleep in.

On the ride to a cafe, my rear wheel became very difficult to turn. I thought, 'oh no, I've got a puncture.'

I checked the tyre and it was full of air.

Then I saw a loose bolt on the brake disc.
Heart 2 Comment 0

All the bolts on the disc were loose. This caused the disc to rub against the brake pads making the wheel hard to turn.

Thankfully it was easy fix with a 5mm allen key.

After a healthy breakfast I went to a supermarket to buy more muesli bars. I now have an ample amount of food.

I backtracked east 41kms to the Roebuck Plains roadhouse. I had a headwind. Luckily I didn't have to go far.

Today I was passed by two different people I had met yesterday. They both leaned out of their window and gave me encouragement. It's nice to receive waves from people I know.

Tomorrow I will head south to Perth., 2,587kms away.

Port Hedland is the next town at 573kms away.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I had booked into the Roebuck Plains roadhouse a couple days ago. It's right at the intersection to head south.

It also does great meals. I had a big feed of barra and veggies for lunch.

A couple mascots.
Heart 4 Comment 0
They only have powered sites here. $45.
Heart 6 Comment 0

They are small sites with lots of shade. There's no camp kitchen.

Annoyingly, my charger plug doesn't fit into the silly campsite socket. I charged all my devices in the laundry.

Today's ride: 41 km (25 miles)
Total: 1,706 km (1,059 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0