Day 35: Barn Hill Station to Stanley rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2022

Day 35: Barn Hill Station to Stanley rest area

Start: 6:45 am
Distance: 98km
Ride time: 5:51 hours
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 25km/hr
Finish: 2:10 pm

I was a little better getting up this morning although there's still room for improvement. 

I did beat the sun by a few minutes.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Gee it was tough riding back to the highway. It took me an hour to do 9kms. It was uphill, with a headwind, sandy, and corrugated.

Once on the highway the headwind turned into a crosswind. It was coming at me from the 8 o'clock position. I guess it was about 50km/hr.

I wish there were more signs like this.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Today's road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The road was flat and the vegetation didn't change much.

Today's tree pic. The wind was coming from the left hand side.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I was weary after yesterday's big day. I took some rest in the shade of this tree.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Finally after a long day in the saddle I arrived at the Stanley rest area. There are toilets and shaded picnic tables here. There is no water.

There are more than 20 other campers staying here.

Ray came over to see if I needed anything.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I gratefully accepted a couple litres of water. Tomorrow will be a big day again and if the wind worsens I will drink more water.

I've taken a pic of the crested pigeon before. This is a better pic with more colour.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 98 km (61 miles)
Total: 1,912 km (1,187 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0