Day 30: Nillibubbica rest area to Broome's Gateway caravan park - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2022

Day 30: Nillibubbica rest area to Broome's Gateway caravan park

Start: 6:25  am
Distance:  93km
Ride time:  4:48hours
Average:  19km/hr
Max:  28km/hr
Finish: 11:15am

I was woken at 9:30pm by some noise near my bike.

This dingo was helping itself to my food pannier.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was bold and didn't seem to worry too much about me. It had taken a box of sultanas and a packet of porridge. 

I took the panniers off my bike and it ran away a little bit.

When I turned around, it had returned to the scattered food items on the ground.
Heart 7 Comment 0

This was a clever dingo. I didn't mind it stole some food. I was just happy to have another dingo encounter. 

Morning road pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another cow pic.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I passed a couple road kill cows this morning. Very stinky.

I passed a small swamp.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The water lillies had tiny pretty flowers.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMarvelous photo!

I think I found it... water snowflake

https://www.somemagneticislandplants.com.au/water-snowflake
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Bill. I had identified it in the main part of the journal, under the photo. Great ID anyway.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It is Nymphoides indica.

Most of the day I had a nice wide shoulder.
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was great to have my own space on the road. It's the widest shoulder I've had since I started in Katherine. 

There were also 15kms of roadworks.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Sometimes I rode on the newly worked road section, away from the traffic. Other times I had to ride with the traffic. There was no shoulder and not much room.

I arrived at the Roebuck roadhouse. I had planned to stay here but they were full. I even played the weary cyclist card without a result.

They sent me 5kms down the road to the Broome Gateway caravan park.  Even though Nroome is in the name, it is still 30kms to Broome. 

They were nice and gave me a shady but dusty campsite. There are standard facilities here. There are no powerpoints to charge devices. There is no food here.

I chilled out for a few hours and then rode back to the Roebuck roadhouse. It has a bar and sells pub food. I had barra and veggies for dinner. It was worth the ride.

$18
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 93 km (58 miles)
Total: 1,593 km (989 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mark LampardHi Vince, just discovered you are back on the road again. Good luck with the rest of your journey. I will be following you each day from the UK.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mark!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago