Day 31: Broome's Gateway caravan park to Broome - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2022

Day 31: Broome's Gateway caravan park to Broome

Start: 8:55  am
Distance:  58km
Ride time:  3:11hours
Average:  18km/hr
Max:  32km/hr
Finish: 2:15 pm

I had a late start because it was only 30kms to Broome.

I had fresh milk in my porridge this morning. It tasted wonderful compared to plain water which is how I always have it.

It was very windy this morning. It was mostly a tailwind. 

Finally I have made it to the west coast.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Most of the streets in Broome are narrow without any shoulder.

There is usually a footpath you can ride on.
Heart 6 Comment 0

There are lots of cars and people here.

I found a busy cafe and took the last free table to order some delicious brunch.

I checked out the Courthouse Markets.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Then I rode a few kms out to Cable Beach.
Heart 9 Comment 0

It was a perfect day to be at the beach. There were beach umbrellas and beach chairs set up for rent. 

I took one for $15 for an hour.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I had a swim without fear of being eaten by a crocodile. The water was a  pleasant temperature. 

It was nice to chill out at such a pretty location. 

Then I went to a supermarket to buy some more food. It was very busy.

Then I checked into the Broome Vacation Village.  It is a few kms out of town. The camp site was dusty red earth.

I will stay here for two nights.

I rode back out to Cable Beach to have dinner at the Divers Tavern. The food was average but they had some nice live music.

$52 unpowered!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Lednar De NallohWow...what a rip off
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Sandra LawnYikes exspensive for a piece of red dirt
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 58 km (36 miles)
Total: 1,651 km (1,025 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0