Day 29: Willare Bridge Roadhouse to Nillibubbica rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2022

Day 29: Willare Bridge Roadhouse to Nillibubbica rest area

Start: 7:50 am
Distance: 62 km
Ride time: 2:55 hours
Average: 21 km/hr
Max: 30 km/hr
Finish: 11:25 am

I started late so I could have a cooked breakfast at the cafe.

Fitzroy River.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Ski Lake.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Cockatoo Creek.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
More termite mounds amongst nice grass.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I heard a noise from my front wheel and found a wire protruding from it.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I used my leatherman squirt pliers to remove it. The wire was about 5mm into the tyre. Thankfully the tyre didn't go flat when I pulled it out.

Where hamburgers come from.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had a little tailwind so I was able to manage a high average speed.

I arrived at the rest area to find toilets and shaded picnic tables. There is no water here. I had loaded up with water this morning before I departed. 

Today I've reached 1,500kms since I started this year. If I include last year's total of 7,000, that makes 8,500kms.

This is the halfway point of my 17,000km trip around Australia. Wahoo!

This land belongs to the Nyikina and Mangala people. In 2014 they were granted native title of more than 20,000km².

Crested pigeons were wandering about.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Crested pigeon.

In the hot afternoon, one kind caravaner gave me a cold bottle of water.

There is phone reception here but it's not strong enough to do the blog.

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 1,500 km (932 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rich FrasierHalfway! That's already a major accomplishment! Congratulations and best wishes for a successful second half.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Rich!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago