Day 16: Bindoola Falls to Bamboo Creek - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2022

Day 16: Bindoola Falls to Bamboo Creek

Start: 7:40 am
Distance: 54 km
Ride time: 4:10 hours
Average: 13 km/hr
Max: 61km/hr
Finish: 12:55 pm

4.5 hours on the bike yesterday made it easy to sleep well last night. I was fast asleep by 6pm.

It's also nice not having noisy road trains going past in the night.

Today was my first full day on the Gibb River Road. The road was corrugated. Usually I could find a smooth patch to ride on. It significantly reduced my average and it was a lot harder on my body. 

About 50 cars went past in the 5 hours. Some of the cars slowed down to reduce the dust. Some just zoomed on past. A couple of people asked if I needed anything.

A typical road view.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A cute wattle with only one flower.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Today's tree pic with orange blossoms. The 8 foot high grass got in the way.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I had a steep descent on bitumen after this.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Annie O'Sheayep you got that sort of right, they usually refer to rocky out crops as jump up
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I think they call small hills 'jump ups' in the top end.

Some pretty water lillies in a random billabong. It looked like good crocodile habitat.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A tiny pink flower on the roadside.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Towards the end of the day, I was stopped on the roadside having a rest. A car stopped and Colin (sorry no pic) asked if I needed any water.

I was concerned there may not be any water at today's destination as most of the creeks were dry.

I gratefully accepted 5ltrs of water from a generous human. This means I will have enough water to get me to Ellenbrae Station tomorrow. 

Eventually I made it to Bamboo Creek. It is not flowing.

There is a 50 metre long water pool.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was happy I had accepted the water earlier as it saved me from filtering this water.

I checked the sandy banks for crocodile slide marks and found none. I deemed it free of cyclist eating reptiles and I jumped in for a wash.

It felt great to wash off the day's dust and grime.

I found a shady and sandy patch and had a nap while listening to red-tailed black cockatoos above me in big melaleucas. 

Free!
Heart 9 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 770 km (478 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSpectacular flower photos today! Could not find good image matches though.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago