Day 17: Bamboo Creek to Ellenbrae Station - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2022

Day 17: Bamboo Creek to Ellenbrae Station

Start: 7:30 am

Distance: 46 km
Ride time: 3:40 hours
Average: 12 km/hr
Max: 41km/hr
Finish: 11:55 am

It was very cool last night and I had to use my sleeping bag. 

For most of the day I had a tailwind.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking down to Durrack River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Durrack River isn't flowing.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It looked like it has only just stopped flowing as there is a very large water pool. A good hiding spot for crocs. Luckily I didn't have to collect any water.

The road was a bit rough in places today. A few sections were sandy. I fell off my bike on a sandy section. The front wheel dug into a deep sandy bit. The wheel turned and I fell off to the side and did a shoulder roll.

The end result was all of the red dust stuck to my sunscreen and sweat. I now have a small graze on my knee and elbow. I felt silly but it is really hard to cycle through sand.

During my travels, 3 cars stopped to ask if I needed anything. Very kind of them.

Towards the end of my day I saw this happy sign.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Ellenbrae Station is today's destination. Their driveway is 5kms long. 

It included a small water crossing.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I ate lunch here and then had a mango smoothie and a yummy scone for dessert.
Heart 7 Comment 1

The shop sells only a few drinks and a couple of prepared food items. The Station is 400,000 hectares and only runs 4,000 cattle. They sold 17,000 scones last year.

The camping area is 800 metres from the homestead. There are hot showers and flushing toilets. Unfortunately there are no powerpoints.

This is a small concern for me as the Sinewave hub charger hasn't been working due to my slow speeds on the dirt road.

It might be a week before I can charge everything. 

Steven saw me looking for a powerpoint earlier. He kindly offered me his power bank to charge up my devices. Steven is from Perth. He also invited me to stay at his house or come by for an authentic South African dinner. People are so friendly. 

The camp site is open with lots of trees. 

There is a small swimming hole with some freshies. I didn't see any.
Heart 6 Comment 0
$17.50.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 816 km (507 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0