Day 135: Smoky Bay to Streaky Bay - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

October 9, 2022

Day 135: Smoky Bay to Streaky Bay

Start: 10:15am
Distance: 81km
Ride time:  4:15hours
Average:  19km/hr 
Max: 35km/hr
Finish: 3:15pm

Last night there was a big party nearby to the park. They finally turned off the music at midnight. It kept me awake and so I slept in this morning. 

My kind neighbours offered me eggs on toast for breaky this morning. I already had fresh milk and cereal prepared so I politely declined. 

Troy and Tilly were out for a morning ride.
Heart 8 Comment 0

They are staying in the same park. Troy let me have a quick go on his electric mountain bike yesterday. It was amazing and very fast. 

Today's road pic. The trees were surrounded by wheat or sheep.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Wheat fields by the ocean.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I saw 3 shingleback lizards today.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Near the lizard, I saw this brightly coloured caterpillar.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltIn my digging I found that Australia has about 20,000 species of moths and butterflies!!! However I found what seems to be pretty much of a photo match to yours. No common name given.

http://lepidoptera.butterflyhouse.com.au/coss/expressa.html
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
It was a few kms off the main road so I didn't visit it.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The terrain was undulating all day. The weather was warm and I had a small tailwind. The traffic was light with no road trains. One cowardly driver expressed his displeasure at me for no reason.

Viterra grain silos in town.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The town jetty. No pelicans today.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I was at the pub for dinner when Geoff rolled in at 5:55pm. He had put in a big day and had caught up to me. We enjoyed a stir fry for dinner.

A great spot for $20!
Heart 11 Comment 0

Today's ride: 81 km (50 miles)
Total: 7,996 km (4,966 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0