Day 123: Ciaguna to Moonera rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

September 27, 2022

Day 123: Ciaguna to Moonera rest area

Start: 6:55am
Distance: 114km
Ride time:  6:06hours
Average:  19km/hr 
Max: 27km/hr
Finish: 3pm

I was up early and had cereal with fresh milk and a hot chocolate at the roadhouse.

After leaving the roadhouse, I entered a new time zone.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is a weird small time zone and makes little sense to me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There was lots of grass with a big horizon and a big sky.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Not many trees in this reserve.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was very pleased to see lots of small flowers throughout today. Most of them looked like salt bushes:

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

After 65kms, I arrived at the Cocklebiddy roadhouse. I had lunch and bought a few supplies. 

I sneakily went to the caravan park section and filled up with water.

There was a big aviary with two wedged-tailed eagles.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I assume they have been rescued from collisions with cars. I still don't like seeing birds in cages. The staff were too busy for me to ask about the birds.

I would like to think the birds are recovering and will be set free soon.

The wind was a crosswind and tomorrow it will be a headwind so I wanted to cover a big distance today. I left the roadhouse and kept on pedalling. 

This shingleback was waddling across the road.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI'd sure like to see one in the wilds!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThey would be happy to see you too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Farewell Ngadju Country.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It was nice to see some more trees.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I saw this rock cairn about 100 metres from the road.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I don't know why it would be there. Maybe for the old telegraph line?

After a long day, I was happy to stop at the rest area.

Before sunset Christina came into the rest area.
Heart 6 Comment 0

She is attempting to beat the female record of cycling from Perth to Sydney. She looked exhausted and she didn't have much time to talk before she headed out for another 5 hours of cycling. Yet she kindly took the time to answer my questions. 

I think she is trying to average 330kms per day. She has 5 hours of sleep each night. She was nice and I wish her all the best. She is being supported by her partner Nick. They have everything well timed and I hope they make it.

This is her very light bike.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Afternoon light on a gum tree.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Free!
Heart 8 Comment 0

Today's ride: 114 km (71 miles)
Total: 7,113 km (4,417 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltSpectacular nature photos! Worthy of being used in identifications... if only I could find image matches.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI appreciate your generous time Bill. Please don't feel obligated to research everything.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago