DAY 14 - INDIAN ROCK CABOT TRAIL - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2022

DAY 14 - INDIAN ROCK CABOT TRAIL

Overnight - Cabot Shores Wilderness Lodge

Day 14 - Howie Centre to English Town Ferry to Cabot Trail Indian Rock

This day was suppose to be 43 miles which should have taken me 4 hours or so.  Well,  before we explain let me say the first 16 miles went as planned and was relaxing.  

Rain greeted the morning coffee stop. I covered up with a trap next to the propane tank cage and mapped the day.
Heart 3 Comment 0

A few pretty views made the sun come out.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

So, after all of that came a little detour.   This video will save me some writing, listen in ...

Missing a turn or operator error using GPS - ummm.  I learned the difference between "car" and "bike" mapping today.  I followed a route and it was the bike route which diverted me off the car (shorter) which is what I was planning to do.   The bike route took me a round about way adding HOURS to the intended short day.  

I went 30 plus miles until I found myself talking to the biking gods, asking where am I and why am I adding miles to this day (80 km).  

That is when Wayne came along in the middle of no where.   I flagged him down as he was returning from a patrol in the rural area of his zone.  Wayne asked me where I was trying to go (English Town Ferry) 

Wayne, officer with the Cape Breton Regional Police out of Sydney
Heart 4 Comment 3
Tamora StumThank You Officer Wayne for helping my hubby!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Daniel SpanglerGreat story man. Try not to get lost, but if you do, recognize it early.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerThanks Dan. It made the day epic. There was a bridge that was really scary that cross high above thus waterway. I’m so glad I got to drive across it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

He figured out what I had done and loaded my stuff in his truck and drove me back the way I biked and then all the way to the ferry.  We traded stories about riding bikes, touring and my past careers.   I really didn't know how to thank Wayne, after we unloaded the bike and bags, we exchanged business cards and shook hands.   It was a firm grip handshake, that carried a lot of respect between to newly made friends!!!   Thank you for going out of your way to get me back on track!  

The winds you hear were the headwinds that filled my little detour.  Fun!

Heart 2 Comment 0

My first views approaching the Cabot Trail:

Heart 2 Comment 1
Daniel Spangler“I heard the Cabot trail goes up and down”
(Eye roll)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside the Cabot Shores Wildness Lodge it is as nice as camping behind the firehouse last night - right
Heart 3 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerAnother day, another Gem!!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Day 14, another gem!  I made it right!

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 608 miles (978 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0