DAY 15 - NORTHWARD CABOT TRAIL - Ingonish - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2022

DAY 15 - NORTHWARD CABOT TRAIL - Ingonish

Overnight - Cape Breton Highlands National Park - Ingonish Beach Campground

I'llDay 15 - Cape Breton Highlands National Park - Ingonish Beach Campground.   

Heart 1 Comment 0

8:20 a.m. - Woke up to a beautiful day at the resort and Cape Breton.  Wow.   With only 30 miles to run - with a bakery at 5 km - I'm in heaven.

Then 6 km later I stopped at a roadside  General Store.  Had a Orange Crush soda and bought a patch for my panniers. I also got some postcards that some of you might receive down the road.

The huge event today was climbing Smokey.   I have to laugh now, but I did a climb earlier in the morning that I thought was Smokey, but let me tell you it wasn't.  

I don't have the exact stats, but it was steep and long.  Here are a few images....

Looking up to see the cars crawling up it....was inspiring!
Heart 3 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerCool photo man
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The road just hugs the cliff as it curves upward....this is a flat section.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is from a viewing point, but sadly not the top I found out!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was an amazing climb that is hard to share.   The Heavy Rescue  (my bike) has a triple chainring and I used it!

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The climbing wasn't over either, but this time I was riding up suspended from cables at at the Smokey Ski Resort.  I had seen this during my research planning months ago.  I thought I have to do it.

Heart 3 Comment 1
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yes "tourist"
Heart 3 Comment 0

What a view of where my overnight would be....Ingonish Beach Campground way down there .....

A dense fog is covering the campground as I sit by a warm fire.   I met a lot of nice people today.  Hannah and James made my evening.  They are from Australia and biked the Cabot Trail clockwise.   We traded stories about our routes as travelers do, but also chatted about life and adventures.   It was so fun to meet them!!!  What a couple!  

Thank you guys for the peanut butter and bagels too!

Here is an image of the beach which was a 10-minute walk from.base camp; certainly a beautiful spot.

Celtic Lodge on the cliff side looked so majestic.
Heart 3 Comment 0

One last item, meet Cosmos, 16-19 years old, he has lived at the Cabot Shores Wilderness Lodge for forever.   His parents tried to move him to their newly built home on the same property, but he wanted nothing to do with it.  The story goes Cosmos is at home .... In the lodge and refuses to leave!

Nice meeting you Cosmos!

Heart 3 Comment 1

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 637 miles (1,025 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerGreat write up man. So glad you’re enjoying the trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago