DAY 13 - HOWIE CENTRE - Atlantic Canada - Counter Clockwise - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2022

DAY 13 - HOWIE CENTRE

Day 13 - St Peters to Howie Centre just west of Sydney.

Heart 1 Comment 0

48 miles with 4,500 feet of elevation gain made for an interesting day.   Turn left on Hwy 4E and go straight over hill and dale until you find Howie Centre.   

Services were not existent except at 16 mm, a Native Indian village store, and the the General Store Market at about 44 mm.   

I had flagged the general store a year ago and guess what it was still there.

Anyway, the road was really beautiful rolling inland and out along the shore of this huge lake.  Out of St. Peters the road has a big paved shoulder, but that changes the further out you go.  

Traffic again was light for 95 percent of the day.  Motorists gave me space and many even waved and honked their horns.

I found myself riding often in the middle of the lane that is how light traffic was. 

The weather changed a lot again today.  Nothing major, just foggy in the morning, changing to cloudy then misty and ending in bright blue skies.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerHeck I didn’t even see these, but yes pretty good right
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

This scene didn't change much so....  The climbs were sometimes short, but often steep and long.   The downhills were flying asphalt for sure.

I stopped occasionally to regroup and snack.   This church appeared just in time; it sat on a hill with a water view that was amazing.  I had to pull in despite the hilly driveway.  It has an aging iron fence that hosted this really cool sailboat....

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I wanted to stay longer, but cars started showing up - a funeral was scheduled in an hour.

Heart 3 Comment 0

So, onward to the general store and to Howie Centre where I hooked up with the Fire Chief of the local company.  I just pulled up, an unexpectedly so did Jim, the fire chief.   Jim, also a long time photographer of film, and I hit it of right away.  We chatted and we exchanged business cards; he told me set your tent up in the backyard.  Thanks Jim for your kindness and conversation - it was my pleasure meeting you.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Fire Chief Jim stopped to give me some power and then showed me around.  He said, "I love meeting people...." I said I do too.  The brotherhood of firefighters is real.  I left Jim a postcard....he gave me the patches.  They are going on my panniers as soon as I get glue!!!  Thank you Chief!

Heart 3 Comment 2
Tamora StumSpecial for Moser
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 563 miles (906 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0