Day 14: Phang Nga - Krabi - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2018

Day 14: Phang Nga - Krabi

Plenty of photos today. For a very simple and exciting reason. It´s been by far the best day on the bike since I have crossed over to the Andaman side.  I didn´t end up where I was aiming for but this is almost irrelevant. I am happy where I am and that´s Krabi town. A lot of people say they are going to Krabi but they actually refer to Noppharat Thara or - even more likely - Ao Nang Beach. I myself was here only once before and didn´t like either of these two popular beaches. Being in need for a day off the bike I was determined to like one of them this time around. And failed once again. Mr. Asperger is simply tired of the development Thailand has taken in many places down here and I decided to continue the 20 km into Krabi town. Still a very touristy place but somehow completely different too. Krabi still has managed to retain that traveller atmosphere. Being a ferry hub for various islands offshore it has got the buzz I like. Great food options, a delightful riverfront pimped up by the ongoing "Thailand Biennale 2018" and plenty of accommodation at fair prices. Two nights, please and as a reward an extra page tomorrow.

Let me finish with a short list if you wish to know about the route I took getting down here: #4311, 4, 1010, 4011, 1003, 4034, 4203, 4204, 4034.

A last look at the commendable TP Place Hotel in Phang Nga
Heart 1 Comment 0
The morning mist lifting along the #4311
Heart 1 Comment 0
Amazing place which doesn´t turn out in the photo at all. First of all the wall behind this temple had massive stalactites that threaten to drop on it any second. And secondly there was just one extremely old monk in it who was very welcoming but didn´t want a photo to be taken. What a shame!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Still tickles me. There is not one of these hardwaredealers but at least a dozen next to each other
Heart 2 Comment 3
Andrea BrownI want everything here.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownNot the best plan, Andrea. Look around at all Bruce’s stuff you’ve got already! Where would you put anything new?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Andrea BrownAt your house.

Oh, wait....
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Another winner this Pad Pik Gaeng Moo (pork curry) somewhere along the way
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanI want everything here!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Bruce LellmanI was talking to Andrea about it recently , Bruce. The simplicity of the ingredients and the cooking process itself keep stunning me. And yet I find it extremely difficult to reproduce when in the kitchen myself. And I have got the full equipment at home. I would even want to believe the ingredients are almost identical. Why is that?
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Nice, very nice cycling once off the highway on the #1010
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dragonfruit and banana farming further along the #1010
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nice property along the #4011
Heart 2 Comment 0
I like and dislike this photo at the same time. Even on this great day of cycling the plantations were omnipresent. Here are all three moncultures for you: rubber, oilpalms and maize
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lifts my spirits for the whole day. Schoolchildren who do not have to be asked to pose for a photo but are happy to express their admiration for you visiting their country
Heart 3 Comment 0
The start of the #4034. Didn´t keep what it promised here (due to plantations) but was still a nice, quiet ride.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The very northern end of Noppharat Thara Beach....
Heart 3 Comment 0
...with something out in the water what I assume is meant to be art
Heart 2 Comment 0
But the amount of boats waiting in the estuary behind the beach may give you an idea what high season may look like
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the actual beach? Not very inviting I would dare to say
Heart 0 Comment 0
I do find Ao Nang promenade....
Heart 1 Comment 0
...and the actual beach in front of it far more attractive
Heart 1 Comment 0
But overall this is the full Ao Nang story in one picture
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down from my balcony at the unfortunately poorly visited walking street in front of my Baifern Mansion. They themselves offered those delicious curry-fish cup cakes. Delightful finish to my day
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 107 km (66 miles)
Total: 1,093 km (679 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0