Getting ready again - Frankie goes to.....the South of Thailand (2018) - CycleBlaze

October 8, 2018

Getting ready again

Following my most recent ride in South East Asia I spent three exciting months in New Zealand with the Kiwi branch of my family  before I flew back to my home country Germany. This shall also be the course of proceedings for the next few years, given my 85 year old  mother will adhere to my niece Ronja´s prediction and make it to her 100th birthday in 2033. 

One result of all that travelling is that I spent very little time turning the pedals since I finished my Indochina ride on Penang in April. Just a few day trips in the Wellington area and along the River Rhine.  That´s why I am very keen to get serious again, in particular as that 5-months ride through Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam has given me the confidence the occupational therapists did a most admirable job setting up my bikes. My dysfunctional left shoulder severely limits the angle for pain-free riding and my sitting position needs to be fitted precisely . One of the bikes they amended is my racing one and after a few additions (rear rack, kickstand) I am set to travel lighter than ever. 

The route?  I am restricted to six weeks on this particular occasion as my flights back to New Zealand are booked from Penang on Dec 6. So the top rankings on my to-do list, Myanmar and India, will have to wait until 2019 and instead I decided to once again have Chiang Rai as the starting point.  From there I will roll down towards the Malaysian border in a more or less straight line . 

When you look below at bike and route it should become obvious this ride will be more about exercising than ample sightseeing. That´s why I was rather hesitant posting this journal. I was and still am uncertain whether I will be able to share something new and appealing on this much-travelled route that I have done myself several times, the section between Hua Hin and Surat Thani in particular . 

One of the stimulations "pro" publishing is the fact that I strongly believe reflecting on my stages right at the end of a day and adding the corresponding photos has not only become a nice pre-dinner routine but certainly helps the whole ride becoming more of a lasting memory. 

That´s of course a rather selfish reason and I would certainly love to entertain fellow cyclists, family and friends too. So here I am again with one week to go until I will board the Eurowings plane from Cologne to Bangkok, followed by a domestic flight with Bangkok Airways up  to Chiang Rai.

My favourite two pastimes while in New Zealand: Fishing and...
Heart 4 Comment 0
...watching Rugby, the unofficial state religion of the small but delightful country down under. Here one of the world´s best players, Beauden Barrett, has just scored a try for the All Blacks against France.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Home sweet home: Along the River Rhine cycle track between Bonn (where I was born) and Königswinter (where I live) in the driest summer Central Europe has seen for decades
Heart 4 Comment 0
The steed for this trip: Rose Pro SL 2000 Hydraulic Disc, pimped up for travelling with a Tubus Disco rear rack
Heart 5 Comment 4
Paul LawranceNice bike, looks like reliable specs👍
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Paul LawranceThanks, Paul. What I found out while crossing the most demanding terrain between the Gulf of Thailand and Andaman Sea is that the bike plus gear certainly requires some smaller gears. That´s me with my skinny legs talking though...
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Paul LawranceWhich Shimano groupset do you have on your bike Frank... particularly the rear derailleur. From your picture it looks like its 105 - 5800 series. You might be able to fit on a 32 tooth cassette, but definitely can fit a 30 tooth. (may need new chain to do that). I lived in Koh Samui for 5 years and had to change my cranksets from 53/39 to a compact 50/34. Hills were too much for me. I was using a 28t cassette but should have gone to 30t.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Paul LawranceIt is indeed the Shimano 105 group - no idea what edition but it is a brand new bike so would be one of the latest. Whle I am in NZ I will leave the bike with my friend and master bike mechanic Faizal on Penang and ask him to look into the alternatives you suggested. They may be needed before I hit the rather unflat roads of Myanmar next May...
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Roughly my plan for the upcoming 6 weeks. Chat House is the guesthouse where I have been staying whenever I come to Chiang Rai since my first South East Asia ride in 2008
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 15
Scott AndersonHooray! Glad to see you on the road again. Thanks in advance for sharing your journey with us.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Andrea BrownFrankie, we were just talking about you, and how it was time to pester you into taking another trip for us to vicariously enjoy. Thanks for obliging! We look forward to reading this journal, you always have a fresh perspective.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bruce LellmanWelcome back Frankie! I'm glad you are going to post another journal. I think it's important for all of us to keep cycling no matter how old we become or what kind of pain we are in. It's good to inform others how we adapt to our changing bodies and keep riding. It's inspiring. Plus, even though you will be traveling a similar route as you have done in the past, things change. Especially in SE Asia it seems some things change massively from year to year.

So, I'm looking forward to reading about your journey. Good luck!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Scott AndersonMuch appreciated, Scott!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Andrea BrownThank you once again for your kind comments, Andrea and Bruce. I am sure ( and hope!) we will keep in touch while I am on the road. It´s a bit early now to ask detailed questions but on my way back up from Penang in April 2019 I will finally get my first decent ride in Myanmar and have thoroughly enjoyed your Both sides of Paradise entries on Burma for my first plan.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Frank RoettgenWe will standby with advice. We can tell you this much: it's going to be very, very hot then. And maybe wet. But you seem pretty impervious to those two things and a good attitude is everything in Myanmar, so you're all set.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
jan houtermansOh- what happened to "Six Bag Frankie"? We are looking forward to follow "Speedy, Frankie" traversingThailand fast as lighning.

Jan & Gabi
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo jan houtermansDear Gabi, dear Jan, the only answer I can think about is "Back to my roots". I started my SEA cycling career with Koh Samui training camps while still being a competitive triathlete. Ages ago..... What you will be more surprised about is the entire change of plan. A massive delay with my Eurowings flight made me cancel my trip to Chiang Rai and I will be reporting from Hua Hin starting Saturday. I can almost see you yawning, Jan!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Chris WeeTo Frank RoettgenI say Frank, what are your other 2 accomplices going to do, since you've abandoned the north ?
Eat more ice cream at Swensens !
Have a safe, good trip and don't ride too fast. 😋
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Chris WeeThese two gentlemen spend more time together than most married couples, Chris. I do not have the slightest of concern they will be able to entertain themselves in my absence. But seriously: The change of route doesn´t bother me at all as for the first ever a daily average of 30 km will take me into Penang in time.Letting them (and Mark who was going to join in too) down is what I am really upset and embarrassed about
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Chris WeeTo Frank RoettgenThey should meet you in Penang for a farewell dinner. Let's twist Bob's arm, again.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Suzanne GibsonHope you have a great trip, Frank! I totally agree on the value of keeping a journal, for oneself as well as for others. I am looking forward to following you in the Land of Smiles.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Suzanne GibsonMuch appreciated, Suzanne!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesHey Frankie - we will be happy to follow your new adventures as we are only doing short rides near home all winter since Dodie is still recovering 2 months after knee replacement surgery and the second knee is due to be done early in the new year. Have a great ride and keep that blog going..
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Frank RoettgenTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThank you very much, Steve! Most importantly my best wishes to Dodie: speedy recovery and all the best for the upcoming operation! I know it is a different issue but not that long ago I had to have two operations to my shoulder and had basically given up on cycling. I hope she will see the same turnaround... My trip is not going to "schedule" so far - entire change of route due to an airline problem and now a rather wet first couple of hundred kilometers. But Hey, I can turn the pedals!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago