Introduction - Forgotten Tour - CycleBlaze

Introduction

(March 10, 2022)

I believe the only time I haven't documented a bicycle tour at the time of the tour itself was a little four-day trip I made in April, 2016 from my then-home in downstate Illinois to Kentucky, where I'm originally from, and where my parents still live.

I'm not sure why I didn't do a write-up of the tour at the time. Maybe because I thought it was boring, or I was too busy, or I was satisfied with uploading some of the photos to Facebook, an evil platform which I now loathe, and from which I permanently deleted my account later in 2016.

Occasionally, though, something reminds me of the trip. This happened the other day, so I thought I'd finally create a journal.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Gregory GarceauLooking forward to it. I've revived a couple of tours from the ash heaps of my notebooks in the past and I know that is no easy task.

If you thought Facebook was an evil platform in 2016, you should see it now. Yes, I'm still there just to keep up with some old friends, but sometimes it is all I can do to avert my eyes from some of the BS.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith AdamsAnother ride in the Wayback Machine!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jeff LeeTo Gregory GarceauThanks, although I'm afraid this won't be very interesting - I didn't even write anything down in a paper journal at the time. I think some of the photos are alright, though.

I had just started using Strava when I did this tour, so at least I know for sure exactly where I rode; that might help jog some memories.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
George HallLooking forward to following along. I have a couple of really old tours I should document someday - I don't think there were any pictures though, so that makes it even more challenging. I'm talking about 1975 - 1977 time periods when I say "old." It's funny how I can remember details of bike tours from 47 years ago but can't remember what I ate for breakfast yesterday! You put in some high mileage days on this tour - and I can definitely relate to having to backtrack due to road closures and such. Looking forward to reading about the rest of your tour.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago