Rest day in Lander - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2012

Rest day in Lander

I got up, did laundry at the campsite, and had breakfast while the laundry was washing. I put on my raingear in order to wash everything else! Then I packed up and went to the bike shop, Gannet Mountain Sports. Ed the mechanic was great. The squeek I thought was the chain was one of the jockey wheels on the derailleur. He said my rear hub sounded dry, so worked in some lube without opening it up. He also noted that my rear brakes were a bit assymetric and that they had been installed oddly and fixed that. Lastly he tweeked the shifting that had been a bit off since the LBS at home had messed with it when they installed the new middle chainring.

Then I found the library, spent some time on e-mail and updating this journal. I had a massive burger for lunch at the Gannet Grill, and then found my warmshowers hosts for the night, Paul and Kathleen. I can't say enough good things about them. They provided a great bed and shower, and even dinner, and made me feel very welcome. Thanks to both of them. Paul, I hope you get to do your trip!

Today's ride: 6 miles (10 km)
Total: 262 miles (422 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0