Some Statistics - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2012

Some Statistics

Accommodation

12 nights Camping

6 nights Hotel

3 nights Church

3 nights WarmShowers

Distance and Speed

Total distance on bike, 873 miles

Average Daily Distance (on non-layover days), 42.7 miles

Longest daily distance, 78.56 miles (to Ennis)

Minimum Daily Distance (on non-layover days) 22.6 miles (To West Yellowstone)

Average of daily average speed, 9.2 mph (on non-layover days)

Min of daily average speed, 6.9 mph (going over Togwotee Pass)

Max of daily average speed, 11.1 mph (Cruising into Missoula)

Max of daily Max Speed, 42.4 mph (Coming down the first Continental Divide Crossing, going toward Jeffrey City)

I'm remarkably slow! I wasn't trying to go fast, just going comfortably so I could keep pedaling, but nonetheless....I'd like to develop some speed to go longer distances!

Expenses

I spent about $1200 on the trip, including some bike repairs, my frequent flier ticket home (which was booked on short notice and hence not "free"), packing and shipping my bike, and $100 for the fancy duffel bag. If I omit the pre-trip bike repairs, the transportation and the duffel, it comes to approx. $800. That works out to $52 (all inclusive) or $35 (without the repairs, the duffel or the flight) per day.

I could have skipped a couple hotel nights, or perhaps been a little more frugal with my choice of meals, but I wasn't too worried about money and I wanted to be comfortable and have a good time. All in all, it was a bit more expensive than I expected, but not a problem. A good reference point for future trips.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rich FrasierNice journal and a nice ride! I enjoyed reading it. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan ShoreTo Rich FrasierThank you! It's always nice to get positive feedback.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago