Jeffrey City to Lander, WY: Heat! - North from FoCo in NoCo - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2012

Jeffrey City to Lander, WY: Heat!

I did talk with the Eastbounders last night about distances. They're putting in long days now, but conceded that their first week or two were slow. My challenge, starting in WY, is that everything is so far apart! One guy yesterday, who stopped in Jeffrey City but then moved on, was from the Netherlands. He said that biking in Wyoming has helped him to understand Americans better, that the distances are so different from those in Europe that it shifts your perspective and attitides.

I Left Jeff City before 7 am, stopping in the cafe to pick up some PowerAid. I'm not much of a fan of Gatorade type drinks usually, but I found they do help when I'm riding all day. Then I went on to the first stop at Sweetwater Junction. Sweetwater Junction is really just a highway rest stop, with some picnic pavilions and rest rooms. It was nice and clean, and I enjoyed my break there. There is also a Mormon Handcart historic site there, but I didn't visit it. Then I pushed on to Lander. I did make a couple of stops at the Split Rock Historic sites, but just a few minutes to gaze at the rocks and read the history placards. By the time I got to Lander it was really hot. I had stopped at an RV park about 8 miles out of town to cool off, but was overheated again when I got into town. I stopped at the first available place to cool off. It was a McDonald's, and I had a cold icy drink, and for the first time in about as long as I can remember, a McDonald's burger! Behind the McD's is one of the camping spots, at the Holiday Lodge. The camping facilities are very nice, with a grassy meadow by the river, good showers and restrooms, and even has a hot tub ... with towels. The only downside is that the restrooms are closed from 11 pm to 6 am.

I blew my 50 miles/day rule for the 2nd day in a row, so I'm planning on spending tomorrow in Lander. I contacted a WarmShowers host, so tomorrow will be my first experience with that!

Lots of historic trails.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's stats:
dist 59.91
odo 6119.6
Max speed 35.7 mph
Av Speed 9.9 mph

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 256 miles (412 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0