DAY TWENTY-NINE: A Dream So Stressful That I Had To Take My First Rest Day - An Unbelievable Tour Around An Imaginary World - CycleBlaze

DAY TWENTY-NINE: A Dream So Stressful That I Had To Take My First Rest Day

Columbia to Nowhere Else

For the purposes of this journal, the weather just isn't working in my favor.  Even taking into consideration the fact that this is an unbelievable bike tour in an imaginary world, how am I to explain a blizzard in Medellin, Columbia?  That's just TOO unbelievable.

It just so happens that today is April 1st, so I considered using the old, worn-out gimmick of writing all about this disastrous snowstorm, and then shouting "APRIL FOOLS" at the end.  I decided against that idea because it was too hackneyed--even for me.  

No, I'm just going to tell it like it was.  It was all a dream.  It HAD to be.

************

     Rain pelted our tent in suburban Medellin until 10:00 p.m.  Around that time, the temperature dropped, powerful winds moved in, and the precipitation turned into icy snow.  G-2 woke up crying several times throughout the night.  I didn't, which proves I'm much braver than he is.  He hates me for mentioning that, but that's what he gets for calling me "chicken" yesterday.  Yet, I'm sure he'll get even by twisting the facts to exploit his cowardice versus my bravery sometime during the day.
     I probably should have comforted my cartoon alter-ego in his time of vulnerable crocodile tears, but I make no claim to being a sensitive kind of guy.  In fact, I was a little upset that his sobbing was interrupting my sleep.
     Eventually, G-2 fell asleep and therefore, so did I.  That's when I had somehow been mentally transported back to my Minnesota home.  I emerged from my tent and was surprised to be looking out into my backyard.  "You've got to be kidding me," I screamed.  I think I had the same look of shock on my face as that kid in "Home Alone."
     That wasn't the first Minnesota snowstorm in April I've ever seen, but it was the first one I ever dreamed about while on a bike tour.   I had a strange consciousness of being in Minnesota and Columbia at the same time.  It was quite unnerving, to tell you the truth.
     Since I have a well-established reputation for being a tough guy, I was pretty sure I could ride to Mexico through the 8" of fresh snow, thereby staying on schedule for a one-month tour.  Ten feet into the ride, I could already see there would be no Mexico today.  There would be no nothing today.  I called for a rest day.
     
I suppose I could have ridden a few miles in the ruts.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYeah, you could have ridden, but from experience, it is tough... and slow... Lots of foot planting along the way. I'm not so good at keeping to the middle of the rut.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
G-2 had an even harder time of it. Even so, he kept saying, "what're ya? Chicken? Bawk, bawk, bawk."
Heart 1 Comment 0
     G-2 consented to the rest day--not that I needed his consent--but he disappeared soon after I pulled him out of the snow.  He played no part in helping our Minnesota/Columbia neighbors dig out of this crazy weather phenomenon.
I helped this poor schmuck to get his car out of the driveway.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I shoveled my ass off in this driveway.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong helped too.
Heart 2 Comment 0
After the shoveling, I challenged The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong and G-2 to a basketball game.   
The snow put a slam dunk on that idea.
Heart 4 Comment 0

************ 

The dream seemed so real that, when I woke out of it, my face was cold, my back hurt, and my arms were worn out.  I'm glad I called a rest day. There was no way my sore, tired body could have ridden to Mexico.  Instead, G-2 and I relaxed in the hot South American sun. 

May tomorrow bring better weather.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jen RahnGlad Mr. Bing Bong was able to help you out of this mess.

A well-earned rest day for the two of youse!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnIt really was a mess, and we agree--it was a well-earned day of rest for us guyses.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago